Stretching your Pouch

Christe1101
on 4/15/13 4:42 am - indianapolis, IN

I have heard that your pouch will stretch some, but it is not possible to stretch it back out to the way it was prior to surgery. I have gained back a lot of weight and want to try the 5 day pouch diet to get me back in gear. I just feel like I can almost eat as much as I did before surgery. Any recommendations to get my tool working for me again. I know most of it is up to me, but I was hoping the pouch test would help get my pouch a little smaller. Has this worked for anybody else who has gained back a significant amount of weight?

pianoford
on 4/18/13 2:30 am - AL

I would recommend you read the articles section here on ObesityHelp. There is an article Bariatric Regain. another one is I Graduated from Obesity.   These have been very helpful reading for me. I hope you have success in lossing again to where you are the happiest! Good Luck. Stay Positive!

jmwaffles
on 4/19/13 5:56 am

i had my surgery in 2004. I lost a total of about 103 lbs over the following two years. I did not feel comfortable at that weight. I could not get used to the 'new me'. Anyway my weight has creeped back up over the years but i am still down 40lbs. I now want to get back and use my pouch. I had an ulcer two years ago due to taking asprin. (which i should never have taken.) I had an endoscopy done and to my surprise the dr said my pouch was still the same small size. I do not know when people say their pouch stretches if that is the correct word. I think over the years you get to learn how to 'cheat' with the pouch. Even now after all these years if i swallow a mouth full of food and then take a gulp of water, i will bring it back up. Now want to start working with my pouch again, no easy way back to the original pouch rules.

i must mention that this web site really helped me. I used to be on it anytime i got the chance.

jmwaffles
on 4/19/13 6:30 am