Got my date today!!!

MicheleMyBell
on 9/21/05 2:42 pm - Signal Hill, CA
I just had to share with all of you that I just received the date for my surgery! It will be Dec.2! I was expecting it to be some time in February so this is quite a shock. I'm new to the messageboards and this website so I will be looking here for answers and support. Especially on the support part. Did any of you experience friends/family questioning your decision to have WLS??? I have had on more than one occasion, the comment, "Are you SURE this is what you want to do?" I'm sorry, this has to be the stupidest question in my opinion! It's not like I just woke up one day and thought, "Hmm...I think I'll go out and have gastric bypass surgery." I just hope someone out there can relate. I'd hate to think my friends and family are the only dopes out there! Searching for support from ones who understand, Michele
vorth
on 9/23/05 12:42 am - Mineral Point, WI
Congrads on getting a date. I sent out an email/letter to my close family and friends about the surgery. I explained the medical conditions I was having and how the surgery was going to help me. I did not have to many questions other than how they do the surgery etc. I was very lucky that my family/friends supported my decision. It is hard for those who have never experienced being overweight to understand what we go thru. What is important is that it is YOUR decision. Even those who don't understand or approve now will have to "eat their words/thoughts" once they see the amazing results. Keep in mind though that the outside is only the outside and your inside appearance does not change. Good luck to you and if you have any quesitons, please don't hesitate to email me privately at [email protected].
amyjo
on 9/23/05 1:41 pm - Kettering, OH