New to board-DS or VSG?

downsize54
on 2/3/12 11:39 pm - MI
DS on 07/12/12
Have completed 6 months "supervised" diet program per insurance requirement. Am in process of fulfilling dietary, cardiac, therapist appoinments. Had decided on VSG but have begun to question if the DS would be a better long term choice for me. Present wt 210, 5"2", diabetic. From what I "think" I've read, the DS requires access to a bathrooms more frequently (?). I'm a visiting nurse, so on road alot, not always near bathrooms (it's discouraged to use clients, and to be truthful, much of the time you wouldn't want too).Advise? Would expecting a goal wt of 135 be too much to expect from VSG?
MajorMom
on 2/3/12 11:59 pm - VA
I think you might be surprised to know most DSrs don't suffer from the scare tactics spouted about by the medical community. I go potty 2 times before I hit the showers to go to work, that's it...I'm done for the day. I control my carbs and sugar alcohols which curbs the gas and also take a probiotic. DS gives you a 98% "cure" rate for type II diabetes. If southernlady chimes in here today, send her a friend request so you can see all the research she did as a pre-op. She has it posted on her profile or can direct you to where she has it stored now. Research and read, you'll eventually get a "warm fuzzy" feeling about the best choice for yourself. It doesn't matter which you choose, you're always welcome here on the Lightweights board. :)

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

MajorMom
on 2/4/12 12:00 am - VA
I almost forgot...to research more about the DS, go to www.dsfacts.com . Also, many of the DS vets are now on Proboards, if you'd like the link, let me know.

--g

******GOAL*******

Join us on the
Lightweights Board!

southernlady5464
on 2/4/12 1:29 am