I'd like to introduce myself

CdngirlinNC
on 5/27/14 12:47 am

I'm just getting started on this journey and have my WLS scheduled for July 7th in Mexico. I wanted to introduce myself. I'm a Canadian girl living in NC and think it's quite a hoot joining a group for "lightweights"! Haven't thought of myself as a lightweight for a lot of years but, ok, I'll take it! Anyway, lightweight or heavyweight, it is a huge step to choose WLS and quite a journey to live it.

I'm ready. It took me a while to wrap my head around having WLS given my BMI was 35 and not 45 but my health picture comes along with severe hypertension that is a constant worry, as well as borderline diabetes. I decided not to wait till I was sicker before taking the plunge. When I peel away all the layers of my situation I know I can lose weight on my own but also know it'll come back putting more stress on my body, and I know the hypertension is silently waiting to hurt me some day so I'm taking the wheel and I'm going to achieve good health. The added benefit is being reintroduced to the me that I still think of myself as. I've been heavy for half my life and I'm really excited to look and feel some closer version of what I have always felt myself to be.

I have learned a lot from reading posts on this forum and will continue to drop in and connect with others who are in various stages of this gig. Pre-op, post-op, old timers - whatever, it's great to be able to share it with others who get it.

Jody ***
on 5/27/14 1:02 am - Brighton, MI
RNY on 10/21/08 with

Welcome!  It sounds like you are ready for this next new phase of your life!  I too wasn't heavy as a younger adult and gained the majority of my extra weight after kids.  I too felt the same inside, and it's amazing when the outside matches how much better you feel about yourself.