What is the definition of a lightweight?

mljohns
on 12/24/14 12:04 am
DS on 01/27/15

I'm new to OH and just got approval for WLS in late January. I've been reading lots of posts but am finding there seems to be a lot of abbreviations and slang that I haven't learned yet. So, what qualifies as being a lightweight? 100 lbs or less to lose?

Y D.
on 12/24/14 12:35 am
VSG on 01/19/15 with

Congrats! That's when I'm having my surgery as well :)

Typically a lightweight is defined as having a BMI in around 35-40. Welcome!

mljohns
on 12/24/14 1:10 am
DS on 01/27/15

My BMI is 42 so I guess I'm not a lightweight just yet.

Price S.
on 12/24/14 1:57 am - Mills River, NC

You are a lightweight if you want to be!!!  We accept everyone and anyone who wants to be here and finds our information and insight helpful.  We accept all surgery types.  We are the ones that typically hear "you aren't big enough for surgery" but we know that our health depends on it.

congrats on your date!!! Stick a round and see if you like it here.

LW-Apple-Gold-Small.jpg image by PlicketyCat  66 yrs young, 4'11"  hw  220, goal 120 met at 12 months, cw 129 learning Maintainance

Between 35-40 BMI? join us on the Lightweight board.  the Lightweight Board

Y D.
on 12/25/14 4:28 am
VSG on 01/19/15 with

Close enough!! No hard and fast rules 

ebonymc
on 12/25/14 9:17 am

Hello! my BMI is 39 but I still get nervous when I think about having the surgery.  I receive good insight here and love to hang around to keep my spirits up. I sometimes worry about losing too much. but as mentioned before, This is what I need to do to better my health.

JenniPenny
on 12/28/14 7:09 am - MN