A Lighter Me Bariatric Center
www.alighterme.com Write Review

A Lighter Me's Photo
avatar
Rodolfo Castillo Calderon
Plastic Surgeon
avatar
Jose Curiel
Bariatric Surgeon
avatar
Mariano Covarrubias
M.D., F.A.C.S.

8 Reviews for A Lighter Me
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Had VSG 5/26/15. From beginning to end, a very professional experience. Met with both Dr. Ortiz and Dr. Morales before surgery briefly, where they discussed my labs(all good) and answered any questions I had. Surgery went smoothly, and I was visited afterwards by both doctors again to let me know my organs were all healthy and there had been no concerns. I felt completely at ease, and even now can get follow up care/concerns answered by Dr. Ortiz via email or Facebook.

Dr. Ortiz has coordinators on staff at Mi Doctor to assist with any questions or concerns. Surgery day is on "mexican time" and there was an issue with the OR the day of my surgery, which pushed us all back several hours. They kept us well informed during that time as well. He works through A Lighter Me, who facilitated the process extremely well.

I would absolutely recommend Dr. Ortiz and ALM!

Dec. 21, 2015

Overall
avatar

I was very at peace the day of surgery(09/16/14). I knew whatever happened, I’d made the best decision I could. The risks of the road I had been on outweighed the risks of surgery in my opinion. I needed this tool desperately. I was first on the table that day, as the highest risk patient. Dr Ortiz, Dr Morales, the anesthesiologist and a special doctor they had on hand b/c of my blood disorder all came over to visit and talk to me before I was put under. They had extra blood on standby just incase I needed a transfusion afterwards. I was pretty impressed by all of this. I don’t remember anything else till I was in my room. Then I remember thinking “WALK!” and dammit- I got up and walked! I remember seeing Dr Ortiz in the nurses area and how surprised he was that I was walking already. Then I went back to sleep.

The A Lighter Me team has been terrific- from the top notch surgeons, to the very available coordinators, to the friendly Tijuana drivers and staff. I am very thankful to A Lighter Me for this second chance at life. As of today(13 months out) I'm down 190lbs and feeling fabulous!

Oct. 28, 2015

Overall
avatar

My wife & I were sleeved by Dr Ortiz 9/16/14. We are very happy with the results and have had no complications. Dr Ortiz is a very skilled surgeon. As long as we use our new tool properly- we lose weight. Our scars are nearly invisible; we've each lost nearly 200lbs and the ALM team is phenomenal with their support. Thank you so much A Lighter Me!

Oct. 28, 2015

Overall
avatar

I received excellent care under Dr. Elias Ortiz and Dr. Oscar Morales from A Lighter Me. The care I received at Mi Hospital was great as well. I would do it again with these surgeons and this company.

Aug. 13, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Elias Ortiz is an amazing bariatric surgeon. When I struggled to lose weight, he has really coached me through it. The A Lighter Me team is caring, compassionate and friendly. They truly care about all of their patients.

June 9, 2014

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Excellent pre op, surgical and post op care. The entire team is incredibly dedicated and my results are the proof. My surgery was successful and I feel good.

April 9, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I just had VSG with MD Mariano Covarrubias 2 weeks ago (Dec 5th 2011).
Everything is going great, in addition to pre-surgery care, to surgery and post-surgery.
Very professional, optimistic, and straight + prudent to talk with. Nice Doctor.
I had my surgery in Tijuana, no issues at all, from hospital to care taken. I recommend him for sure!

Dec. 18, 2011

avatar

My surgeon was incredible! The surgery was a complete success, very minimal pain, barely visible scarring. I did most of the aftercare with my physicians in the states. BIG mistake. After months of problems, I went back to my surgeon, Dr. Covarrubias, and withing the hour, he clearly identified my problem was not my lap band, but my gall bladder. Wish I'd have gone back to Mexico to him 6 months ago. He's professional, clearly listened to me and didn't blow me off like the gastro-enterologist here in the states. I'd go back to him. He's patient, professional, THOROUGH! and not to mention extremely good looking too! That's always an added bonus. :) I couldn't say enough about him. English could use some improving but that was minor.

Aug. 13, 2008

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.