Mexicali Bariatric Center

Bariatric Center
Rating: 4.96380090498 out of 5 with 443 ratings

Mexicali Bariatric Center Bariatric Center
www.mexicalibariatric.com Write Review

Mexicali Bariatric Center's Photo
avatar
Rodolfo Wilhelmy
M.D F.A.C.S
avatar
Edgar Campos
Clinical Bariatric Doctor and Nutritionist
avatar
David Beltran
Bariatric Surgeon
avatar
Gilberto Ungson
Bariatric Surgeon
avatar
Alberto Aceves
M.D., F.A.C.S.

443 Reviews for Mexicali Bariatric Center
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I had a duodenal switch with Dr. Esquerra on 6/1/17. On the date of surgery, I weighed 294 pounds - my top weight being 307 pounds a month prior. During my preparation, the staff was professional and very helpful as this my first time traveling for a procedure. The instructions they provided for the pre-op diet were easy to follow.The pre-op work the day before was straightforward and there was someone available to help with translations if needed.

The day of surgery was pleasant; the staff works to keep you comfortable, and they communicate clearly with you on what is going to happen. I woke up a bit after surgery and the staff was attentive with educating me on expectations, and they were prompt with making sure that I got up and walked around regularly (as there is a strong correlation between moving around post-op and NOT developing certain complications).

I stayed in the hospital for a few days, and I have no complaints; there were no language issues and people checked on you frequently - especially to make sure you were taking in adequate fluids and walking around. Discharge planning and instructions were clear as well.

Post-op, they were very helpful in communicating back on any questions I have. I would recommend them to anyone, and having had surgeries in the US before, I can say that the "customer service" aspect of care with both Dr. Esquerra's practice and the hospital staff exceeded most care received in the US and at US hospitals. I have had a great experience - I am down to 185 pounds, and I have absolutely no regrets about making the decision to travel for this procedure.

March 11, 2018

Overall
avatar

I had my surgery the end of August 2017 and I am down 75 pounds, and about 25-30 from my goal. Best decision I have ever made! The healing process was smooth and I haven't felt this good in years. The entire process was very easy and everyone was super helpful. Even the drive from the airport in San Diego to the hospital in Mexico was super pleasant. Our drive had also had the surgery and seeing him in person, and his before picture, was super inspiring! Dr. Wilhelmy was great, and all of the nurses were too! The hospital was nice, and the wing was quiet, and I felt very well taken care of! I was afraid flying home was going to be rough, but even that went well. They keep you in the hospital long enough that I felt fine, even with a long day of travel!

March 1, 2018

Overall
avatar

Dr. Campos is wonderful. He checked on me throughout my stay in the hospital and explained the surgery procedures before and after. Very nice and professional.

March 1, 2018

Overall
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

Dr. Wilhelmy preformed my surgery on February 9, 2018. He is an amazing doctor. He took the time to talk with me about the surgery and made me feel very comfortable. Very nice and professional.

March 1, 2018

Overall
avatar

I had sleeve surgery the end of September of 2017. My goal was to lose 50 lbs and I am now down 38 - almost there - 4 months later. I've struggled with my weight all my life and just couldn't take the pounds off post menopause. This surgery is not just for those who are extremely obese but for those just on the cusp too. I'm very happy with the results. MBC was recommended by 2 friends who had surgery there. I went alone and they made it easy from start to finish. The Doctors, nurses, and staff were professional and friendly. The hospital was excellent. I highly recommend it.

Feb. 28, 2018

Overall
avatar

I would definitely recommend going to Mexicali Bariatric Center for your weight loss surgery. I had RNY on June 2, 2017 with Dr. Wilhelmy and have zero regrets. I have lost 100lbs since then. I look and feel so much better, I have collar bones and a neck! Lol.

If you are nervous about going to Mexico for your procedure, don't be. I went alone because no one was able to go with me and I was taken care of from start to finish. At no time did I feel unsafe. The whole team made me feel at ease and comfortable. I haven't had any complications and I look forward to reaching my goals. I am so glad that I finally stepped off the roller coaster of fad diets and I would do the surgery at MBC again in a heartbeat.

Feb. 27, 2018

Overall
avatar

I would recommend this surgery to anyone who is struggling with their weight. It was seriously the best thing I have ever done. The Dr, Nurses and the rest of the hospital staff are awesome. And even after my surgery they email to Check in and are always willing to answer questions. I couldn’t be more happy with my results. I am almost 6 weeks post op and already down 27 pounds!

Feb. 27, 2018

Overall
avatar

I had lapband done with Dr. Asceves about 10 years ago. I loved Dr. Asceves however I had issues with the band so wanted a sleeve. I decided to go to Dr. Wilhelmy and I am so glad I did. I only wish I would have done this instead of lapband. I love the hospital. They have the best soup in the world. Private rooms. So clean. I have not had any problems at all. Everything was easy and I would recommend everyone go see him. I would give 10 stars if I could.

Feb. 27, 2018

Overall
avatar

Such a caring doctor. Took very great care of me. I am 19 years old and I was scared due to it being my very first surgery. He assured me that I was going to be okay. Had a speedy recovery. I got the sleeve on September 9, 2017. I was 250 pounds, weighing 247 the day before my surgery. It is February 27th and I weigh 175 pounds. I haven't been at that weight since i was an eighth grader. Thank you to Dr. Wilhemy and the great staff for changing my life for the best!!!
Genesis

Feb. 27, 2018

Overall
avatar

I am very happy that I decided to get gastric bypass sleeve surgery with Dr. Wilhelmy and Dr Campos. I tried everything else before to lose weight and was not successful. The doctors were very nice and the hospital was very clean. I would recommend Mexicali Bariatric Center to anyone serious about losing weight.

Feb. 27, 2018

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×