Mexicali Bariatric Center

Bariatric Center
Rating: 4.96475770925 out of 5 with 449 ratings

Mexicali Bariatric Center Bariatric Center

Mexicali Bariatric Center's Photo
avatar
Rodolfo Wilhelmy
M.D F.A.C.S
avatar
Edgar Campos
Clinical Bariatric Doctor and Nutritionist
avatar
David Beltran
Bariatric Surgeon
avatar
Gilberto Ungson
Bariatric Surgeon
avatar
Alberto Aceves
M.D., F.A.C.S.

449 Reviews for Mexicali Bariatric Center
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Mexicali Bariatric is Amazing!

I had a full virgin DS 6/27/18. I am a 44 year old medical professional. I have been researching and trying to make this happen for a decade and am in close contact with several long term DS vets in my medical field so I had very specific and rather high expectations of how I wanted my surgery to be performed.

From the moment I contacted them (months earlier) I had a wonderful experience. From the moment I was picked up at the airport until I was dropped back at the airport to go home I was completely taken care of. Felt absolutely safe, secure and cared for. I have had more dealing with US docs and medical facilities than I care to think about. I can say, without a doubt, this was the best medical experience of my life.

All the Docs and staff were on top of all my needs. Post Op I had an IV drip with some meds in it for two days. I was never so medicated that I wasn't completely clear in the head yet I had no pain other than feeling like I'd done a bunch of sit ups and my stomach muscles were a bit sore. When they removed the IV I only had an Ibuprophine type product the first day(which I probably could have gone without but it was available so I took it). Removing the drain before I left was painless. I've had no pain meds since.

I am now 22 days out from surgery and have NO pain or discomfort at all. My incisions are healing beautifully and are very petite. My CD of the post op images have been reviewed and pronounced beautiful by a second DS surgeon of 20+ years who has no affiliation with MBC.

I am so very pleased. I have no problem recommending MBC to anyone. I researched several other bariatric groups in Mexico and none of them even communicated well with me during the time when I was trying to decide where to go. I had been told by one that their surgeon would answer some technical questions for me about how he performs the DS and he never answered my emails at all - even with repeat requests. I finally chased him down on his personal Facebook and he was rather general and dismissive. That was NOT for me.

MBC was a completely different and positive experience. Every question I had was answered. Each thing I needed to do was clearly laid out in writing and easy to follow.

The hospital Almater is beautiful and pristine. I've not seen a US hospital so well taken care of. There were always people cleaning. All the equipment is up to date. The staff was wonderful, extremely warm, friendly and most spoke English - at least well enough to get me by. I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. There was none of the "understaffed and too busy to get to you" business I've had in the US. Any time I needed something it was taken care of in moments.

There may be a couple facilities out there that are slightly less in cost but I can promise you, that little bit extra is nothing when you get an experience like this. I look forward to returning when I am ready for plastics.

Feel free to email if you have questions.
[email protected]

WS

July 19, 2018

Overall
avatar

I had a duodenal switch with Dr Rodolpho Wilhelmy on July 10th, 2017. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming, from the driver who shuttled us to and from the San Diego airport, to the hotel, and hospital etc. Pre-admission testing was done really quickly and efficiently: urinalysis, blood work, official pre-surgery weigh-in, and EKG. Easiest, most pain-free blood draw and IV placement (the following day) ever. These people know what they are doing.
Because we were picked up early from the airport, and the pre-admission tests went so quickly, we had all afternoon to swim and enjoy the beautiful hotel.
The morning of the surgery went equally as smoothly. Before I knew it I was on the way to surgery. I wasn’t at all nervous, because at this point I had met everyone, and knew I was in good hands.
Although I woke up in recovery in a lot of pain, the nurses got the doctor on it right away. Once I had the IV meds flowing, I was much more comfortable.
I was up and walking and feeling really good the following day, leak tests all came back fine. The hospital broth is super yummy and now I have the recipe :-)
The hospital is super clean and has modern equipment. It’s a real hospital with everything you would expect (ER, intensive care etc), which was reassuring, even though I didn’t need anything like that.
Recovery has been smooth thus far. For that I am very grateful and feel very blessed to have had such a good experience with such awesome care. The people there, all the medical staff, the MBC patient coordinators, EVERYONE! has been amazing at what they do, and has been super friendly and approachable.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. In fact, I have a friend as well as a family member who I hope to convince to go as well; and if/when they decide they are ready to go, I would love to go back to accompany them. My husband said the couch he slept on was comfy and the food in the hospital cafeteria was really good.

July 17, 2018

Overall
avatar

Had a wonderful experience with Dr. Wilhemy and his staff. We had tons of questions and they never hesitated to answer any of them. My surgery was on May 1, 2018 and although I had a rough start, it was the best decision I could have made!

July 12, 2018

Overall
avatar

I received excellent care from Dr. Wilhelmy and his staff when I had my gastric sleeve surgery on March 20, 2018. The post-op eating instructions were specific and easy to follow. Any questions that I had were immediately answered via email after I returned home. I just passed my three-month mark and am down 42 pounds (22 to go). Having this surgery was one of the best decisions I've ever made. I feel so much better, and shopping is actually fun again.

June 27, 2018

Overall
avatar

I got the Spatz3 balloon with Dr. Campos. I cannot say enough about Dr. Campos, his team and the hospital. The support staff is just awesome-very concerned about every little concern-and there to help you through it all. Dr. Campos is one of the best doctors I’ve ever met. My husband went with me and has not stopped telling people about the wonderful service, the pristine hospital and the continued aftercare I’m receiving. He even sent a nurse to my hotel room. I would not go anywhere else!!

June 24, 2018

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

I had an excellent experience with Dr. Wilhelmy and his staff. On February 28, 2018, I had revision surgery from a lap band to a gastric sleeve and at that time, he also repaired a hiatal hernia. I received wonderful care from Dr. Wilhelmy in a top-notch facility. He and his team are all very professional and very caring. I received much follow-up during my recovery and I have had zero complications. My gastric sleeve is a fantastic success and I am quickly on my way to a much healthier and happier life. I have recommended Dr. Wilhelmy to my own family members and friends because I am so confident in his abilities.

June 19, 2018

Overall
avatar

I had a duodenal switch with Dr. Esquerra on 6/1/17. On the date of surgery, I weighed 294 pounds - my top weight being 307 pounds a month prior. During my preparation, the staff was professional and very helpful as this my first time traveling for a procedure. The instructions they provided for the pre-op diet were easy to follow.The pre-op work the day before was straightforward and there was someone available to help with translations if needed.

The day of surgery was pleasant; the staff works to keep you comfortable, and they communicate clearly with you on what is going to happen. I woke up a bit after surgery and the staff was attentive with educating me on expectations, and they were prompt with making sure that I got up and walked around regularly (as there is a strong correlation between moving around post-op and NOT developing certain complications).

I stayed in the hospital for a few days, and I have no complaints; there were no language issues and people checked on you frequently - especially to make sure you were taking in adequate fluids and walking around. Discharge planning and instructions were clear as well.

Post-op, they were very helpful in communicating back on any questions I have. I would recommend them to anyone, and having had surgeries in the US before, I can say that the "customer service" aspect of care with both Dr. Esquerra's practice and the hospital staff exceeded most care received in the US and at US hospitals. I have had a great experience - I am down to 185 pounds, and I have absolutely no regrets about making the decision to travel for this procedure.

March 11, 2018

Overall
avatar

I had my surgery the end of August 2017 and I am down 75 pounds, and about 25-30 from my goal. Best decision I have ever made! The healing process was smooth and I haven't felt this good in years. The entire process was very easy and everyone was super helpful. Even the drive from the airport in San Diego to the hospital in Mexico was super pleasant. Our drive had also had the surgery and seeing him in person, and his before picture, was super inspiring! Dr. Wilhelmy was great, and all of the nurses were too! The hospital was nice, and the wing was quiet, and I felt very well taken care of! I was afraid flying home was going to be rough, but even that went well. They keep you in the hospital long enough that I felt fine, even with a long day of travel!

March 1, 2018

Overall
avatar

Dr. Campos is wonderful. He checked on me throughout my stay in the hospital and explained the surgery procedures before and after. Very nice and professional.

March 1, 2018

Overall
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

Dr. Wilhelmy preformed my surgery on February 9, 2018. He is an amazing doctor. He took the time to talk with me about the surgery and made me feel very comfortable. Very nice and professional.

March 1, 2018

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×