Basil Yurcisin Bariatric Surgeon MD
www.gsbwc.com Write Review

Basil Yurcisin's Photo

4 yr Experience

5 yr in Bariatrics

9 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

5 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

95% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 16

Max Age of Patient is 80


Adjustable Gastric Band

Biliopancreatic Diversion

Duodenal Switch

Revision

Roux-en-Y

Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy


avatar
Michael L. Bilof
M.D.,F.A.C.S. FASMBS
avatar
Dominga Thompson
Surgical Coordinator
avatar
Keisha Smith
Service Manager
avatar
Sharon Reed
Patient Coordinator

12 Reviews for Basil Yurcisin
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

My primary doctor referred me to Dr. Yurcisin - and Obesity Help website and the hospital affiliation. Dr. Yurcisin's knowledge and expertise, the entire team at the office and the comprehensive services offered at the office - and the total comfort are just a few of the reasons I stayed with GSBWC. I had surgery on April 25th 2011 - and 14 days post surgery - I felt lighter and lost 20 lbs!!!

In the beginning right after surgery, I was in the bathroom 24/7. I was feeling depressed and wondered if I had made the right decision. I talked with some of my support group friends and realized this was natural. Support IS important. I continue to stay with these amazing group fo people at gSBWC to continue this changing life adventure!

Jan. 2, 2012
Overall
avatar

Surgery in March 2011 - since surgery - off ALL Diabetes meds- no more Insulin shots.

I just wanted to write and thank you for giving me a second chance at life. From the 1st phone call I made to the office, I was treated with kindness and respect. Keisha, Dominga and Bella went out of their way to accommodate me with everything - including scheduling my surgery for the day I asked for.

It's so comforting to know that there are medical professionals out there who really do care about their patients; it's not just a business to them.

I have been heavy my whole life, and I can't tell you how many times I cried myself to sleep and prayed to be able to experience what life would be like, even for just ONE day if I was thin and healthy. You have given me hope that I will not only have that for one day, but the rest of my life.

This weight has been like a demon inside of me that I couldn't control. I know they say that this surgery is only a tool and I understand that, but it's a tool I needed to beat this demon - and everyone at GSBWC are the angel that put the tool in my hands. I know I have along road ahead of me, but I am confident that with the help of all at GSBWC, I will have a long happy life and I am so grateful. Thank you all for everything!

Jan. 2, 2012
Overall
avatar

Dr. Yurcisin performed my Gastric Bypass surgery - and my gallbladder surgery on September 1st 2011. I attended Dr. Yurcisin's informational seminar and he thorougly explained the pros/cons of surgery; is highly trained and seasoned in the field and totally takes the time needed - every time - and worked out what I needed in terms of surgery, my schedule and my challenges with health issues.

I have greatly reduced the medications I take for my Diabetes and am down to only one medicine - for now - and look to remove all medications. My self-confidence is back and I am enjoying shopping again.

I have contemplated bariatric surgery for quite a few years - but was fearful. Once I attended the infomational seminar, my fears were lifted. Dr. Yurcisin took his time to explain the benefits of bariatric surgery and even the complexities that may occur (in my situation) due to 2 cases of pancreatitis. I feel great and look forward to a new future.

Thank YOU!

Jan. 2, 2012
Overall
avatar

I had my Bypass in May of 2011 and I have lost 72 lbs so far. Dr. Yurcisin performed my surgery. I'm super proud of my weight loss, i have a lot more energy, I sleep better, my sleep apnea and infertitlity has resolved. Overall a great thing!

Dec. 19, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr Yurcisin performed my Gastric Bypass on 11/31/11. Since the surgergy, I take less medication for my high blood pressure. I enjoy my new look and look forward to a brighter and healthier future.

Thank you Garden State Bariatrics!

Dec. 19, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr Yurcisin did my gastric sleeve surgery on October 10, 2011. In two weeks I lost 22 lbs and I am still adjusting with weight and my meds - every day is better and better. Dr. Yurcisin's credentials are top notch - and his care, concern - the timem and attention he took with from our initial contact, our consult and every step of the way - he is a True Top doc in every way that matters.

I feel it is the best decision I could have made for myself. I improve my health and my self-esteem. I have great expectations for success. Dr Yurcisin and his staff have been most helpful and instrumental in my journey. Also, the hospital, St. Barnabas, was very good and helpful with my care and wellness. Together, they made my journey a very good experience.

Dec. 19, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr Yurcisin did my gastric sleeve surgery on September 26th 2011...and he has been great! I was referred to the office from both a family member and a friend... and came to Dr Yurcisin's seminar on the surgeries and the options. He explained everything clearly and outlined all the pros/cons. Dr. Yurcisn's expertise and knowledge is amazing and works with you all along the way. His attention to my care and concerns - so glad he is my surgeon for life.

I am off all my diabetic medicine, have my self-confidence back and looking forward to my new and healthy journey. Self-confidence; a smaller size for my health and to finally enjoying clothes shopping again - all great reasons for making the decision to get healthy. Of course I have and do refer my friends and colleagues to the office. Thank you!

You'll see me in Century Club - watch out!

Dec. 15, 2011
Overall
avatar

I was referred by an existing patient of the office and attended an informational seminar with Dr. Yurcisin leading the seminar. Dr Yurcisin was great and so knowledgeable and supportive. My surgery was a month ago, and I have already lost 31 lbs and gained energy and strength. My insulin dosage has been dramatically reduced and my blood pressure is normal.

My husband and I researched multiple bariatric physicians, but when we met Dr Yurcisin and his staff we knew we were with a competent and caring physician and team. The office staff guided us through every step of what otherwise would be an overwhelming procedure. THANK YOU!

Update - as of October 2011 - I have lost 122 lbs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dec. 15, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr Yurcisin did my gastric sleeve surgery November 2011. Nine days after surgery, I am down 16 lbs and feel good! My knees and joints feel better, I am already down from size 24 to size 20 - and its been 9 days! I was referred to Dr. Yurcisin from an existing patient and he was so ready to give me his time and attention; the staff in friendly and helpful. I really Trust Dr. Yurcisin - he took really good care of me.

I would like to say Thank you to everyone at the office. Everyone has been so nice and kind. When I call Dominga, just about every day, she did not say I was getting on her nerves, which I know I was... but my surgery went well and I feel GREAT and Dr. Yurcisin did a Great Job!

Dec. 15, 2011
Overall
avatar

Doctor Yurcisin so far has been terrific. From the moment I met him I felt as though I could count on him the way I would want to count on any physician. Despite walking into his group info session halfway through, he was wonderfully receptive and answered all my questions although I'm sure he had already gone over many of them.
I had a very informative information session for our first meeting, where I felt I was having a conversation and not a lecture. He successfully talked me out of one surgery and into another without selling it and my further research has supported that switch. He has answered every question I have had with complete candor, and if he did not know the answer, he told me. (for the record I asked if a rather out-of-the-way condition would be improved by weight loss and he gave me a reasonable answer based on what he knew, though admitted he had no concrete information on the matter. Further research proved his answer was correct)
He was very calming and assured in his demeanor prior to my EGD, putting me at ease and taking time to answer all my questions prior to the procedure.
I have yet to do the surgery, but am looking forward to it, and am comfortable that I am in good hands.
I can't say anything negative at this point--I reserve the fifth star, however, until I have gone through surgery with him and come out the other side ok :)
. . .which I now have. He had me so at ease on the operating table that I basically laughed till I was unconscious. I recommend him to anyone who wants a smart surgeon with a sense of humor and a very skilled hand at hiding scars :) 1 incision, inside belly button. The end. Not quite the end. Between the coaching I received and the expert care, I've lost 110 lbs and kept it off since my surgery.

April 25, 2011, Updated: Feb. 13, 2013
Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.