Brad Winterstein Bariatric Surgeon M.D. Write Review

Brad Winterstein's Photo

8 yr Experience

6 yr in Bariatrics

12 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

4 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

30% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 13

Max Age of Patient is n/a

10 Reviews for Brad Winterstein
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest

Dr. Winterstein performed my laprascopic sleeve surgery on 5/24/13. The surgery itself went well and my recovery was easy with no complications. He has been very congenial and informative since the first session. Both his surgical competence and bedside manner are great. I've dealt with both of his PAs too and I feel they are very competent.

I've had mostly good experiences with his office staff. Although I knew going in I wanted the sleeve, and marked that on all my paperwork, I was somehow submitted to insurance for RNY. That required me to come back in and be re-assessed so they could resubmit. That was a delay I didn't appreciate. They deal with so many patients, and have three different doctors who they do schedules for, so I would suggest future patients double and triple-check that the record is accurate as to which surgery is desired.

Aug. 9, 2013, Updated: Aug. 12, 2013

1 person found this helpful


Dr Winterstein did my RNY on June 22nd, and has been a great Doctor for me. I did well with the surgery and am recovering well. I am very pleased with Dr. Winterstein.

July 7, 2012


I can't say enough good things about both Dr Winterstein and Dr. Anthone. I have received outstanding care from the first appointment to the most current. They have the upmost care and compassion than any Dr's office I have been to. I believe this is why their office, as a whole, is so successful.

April 9, 2012


Extremely happy with my gastic sleeve. It was done laproscipically with no complications. It has been 16 months with no weight gain. My weight has gone from 276 lbs to 150 and has been stable for several months. I have nothing but positive things to say about Dr. Winterstein and the staff in his office. I liked having several options and chose the least invasive option.

Jan. 4, 2012


Dr. Winterstein and the entire staff have been so patient and helpful throughout the whole process. The aftercare program is awesome. They want to keep track of you to make sure you lose enough but not too much while staying healthy!

Feb. 9, 2011


Dr. Winterstein was impressive and non-threatening during my first meeting with him, at the informational seminar I attended. I was impressed by him much more than any program I had met with.

As I had my initial appointment with Dr. Winterstein I knew - He was my guy! I trusted him without effort (which is hard when you've never had surgery before and you're naturally untrusting in general). I was at ease with him, and his staff as well. Everyone I met in the office KNEW what was going on, and they were all helpful and kind.

The office staff can be difficult to get ahold of, and getting a phone call returned can be a headache, but it's a trade off I'm willing to take for my excellent experience.

For aftercare the office is pretty much 'married' to you. You're in this relationship for life! You go in at 3 weeks and 6 weeks post op for check ups, then it's further apart after that...but you're never 'done'.

Over all, in my opinion, Dr. Winterstein's surgical competence and bedside manner are both superb! You also get the added benefit of his partner, Dr. Anthone, in the OR when it's finally your day. Another set of experienced eyes and hands on case you should need it.

May 4, 2010


Dr. Winterstein is very professional. He is very willing to answer all of my questions no matter how many I throw at him. My surgery was incredibly effortless. I was surprised how easy it was. The office staff is very kind and returns calls. The problem I have is that he has very limited office time, so in order to schedule an appointment you may need to wait a few weeks to get in. There is a 2 hour session pre surgery that goes over post op diet and life after surgery. He emphasizes the importance of excercise in weight loss and that the use of surgery is only a tool to achieve permanent weight loss. He is a very skilled surgeon and I liked that he talked to me. He looked me in the eye and I didn't feel like he looked down at me because of my weight. Dr. Anthone, his partner, is the physician that saw me in the hospital because I stayed over the weekend-he had a very good bedside manner and was kind. I really do not have anything negative to surgery was effortless for me and I had very little pain. I have been very pleased with my experience thus far.

Jan. 10, 2010


I would rate Dr. Winterstein at 10. rnrnChristy (insurance person in office) was not timely in returning phone calls.

Dec. 31, 2009


The staff including Dr. Winterstein were very nice and seemed thorough at my initial office visit. Risks were defined, surgeries were discussed, and I feel pretty confident about having Winterstien perform my surgery. (I am nervous about surgery - so the #1 surgeon in the country might have to prove himself to me.)

I think the staff gets busy sometimes, so they are not always able to return phone calls on a timely basis, which can be somewhat frustrating when you are trying to get everything handled asap for your surgery. I decided to change my surgery from the sleeve to the roux-en-y and was told that the doctor will have to re-dictate for me and my case will be re-submitted almost 2 weeks from now. Not tremendously happy with that news, but I am at their mercy.

So far I've only had the initial face-to-face appt with the staff and now it's up to my insurance company for a timely pre-auth review. I am hoping to get everything done before the end of 2009 to take advantage of my fulfilled insurance deductible. Not sure if it will all happen for me. Hope so. I will update this review as things go along.

Nov. 5, 2009


Doc and staff were very friendly. He had nice warm hands. He was funny and intelligent. His staff was really nice and remembered me from day one. rnrnI met with him in July and again two days before the surgery. We went over the surgery, risks, and diagnosis extensively. They also provided a handout about all of it.rnrnSomeone at the office screwed up and scheduled me for a sleeve gasterectomy (which is not what I wanted). With that surgery, you meet with a nutritionist about a week before the surgery. It was at that point that they found they has made a mistake. rnrnMy surgery was moved back 2 weeks...which made the pre-op liquid diet hellish.rnrnThen, the pre-op appointment with the surgeon was scheduled but no one called me until that afternoon to ask if I could come earlier.rnrnThe pre-op diet was not terribly specific. No calorie totals or protein gram counts were provided. There was no guidance about how to manage the diet. rnrnAfter the surgery, a registered dietician stopped by with a list of very expensive drinks that are very high in sugar and not so high in protein. Plus, when I asked her if milk was considered a clear liquid, she didn't know. I am under the impression she knows very little about this surgery or the diet.rnrnI didn't get specifics on the aftercare appointments until two days prior to surgery. At that time, I was given a list of support group meetings. rnrnI'm meeting with the surgeon about 3 weeks and 6 weeks from today (surgery date). At three weeks, I can talk to him about going to a pureed diet. Before that, it's clear liquid slowly moving to opaque liquids. At 6 weeks, we'll look at getting a fill and moving to more solid foods. rnrnThe RD said something about meeting with her next week. I will call on Monday and schedule an appointment.

Nov. 6, 2008

The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. does not monitor or edit this information.