Constantine T. Frantzides Bariatric Surgeon M.D., PhD, F.A.C.S.
lapobesitysurgery.com Write Review

Constantine T. Frantzides's Photo

23 yr Experience

19 yr in Bariatrics

21 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

14 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

70% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 15

Max Age of Patient is 70+


549 Reviews for Constantine T. Frantzides
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

3 years ago, I was 265 pounds when I first walked into Dr. Frantzides office. Based on my consultation with him, instantly, I could make a definite decision that I was going to have my surgery with this surgeon. His knowledge and confidence in himself as well as hundreds of reviews from happy patients were all that was needed to give me confidence that I too was going to be alright. This is why I am writing this review today, to give back to the doctor who took the time to educate me, who did my surgery perfectly, preserved my vagus nerve and I became one of the hundreds of patients who had a Laparoscopic Gastric Bypass BUT who DO-NOT “dump”!!!
I know now that had I gone somewhere else, they wouldn’t have preserved my Vagus and I would be literally “punished” anytime I ate “the wrong thing”. I was lucky that faith had me to come to Dr. Frantzides fist and he did the rest. I have lost over 100 pounds. I have since had a tummy tuck (also with Dr. Frantzides) and I am a new woman today. I also hope my review helps others find their way into Dr. Frantzides office, and they can have the best qualified, and experienced surgeon to perform whatever weight loss procedure they decide to have.
As for Dr. Frantzides, he is in my heart, he loves what he does and it shows.
Thank you Dr. Frantzides!!

Aug. 31, 2016

Overall
avatar

I had a "Sleeve" 4 years ago by another surgeon who was very much pushing me for this procedure. I lost some weight the first year and to my amazement I started gradually regaining the weight. There I was again, struggling and going through the diets. Again I started researching my options. I have consulted with many doctors and surgeons until I came across Dr. Frantzides. I met with the doctor in November of 2014. I was really impressed with him and his credentials. I had a revision by Dr. Constantine Frantzides on January 2015. He did the operation laparoscopically, and I stayed at St. Francis Hospital only 1 day. The nurses were all wonderful, and they all re-assured me over and over that I was "in good hands". After almost 1.5 years I am approaching ideal weigh of 131 pounds. I feel amazing, and all my friends and relatives tell me that I look amazing too.
This is all thanks to the 'amazing" skills of Dr. Frantzides!!!!!

May 4, 2016

Overall
avatar

I’m not sure what I can add that has not already been said by the other reviewers of Dr. Frantzides but nonetheless, it is worth noting that I am absolutely positive that his skills as a surgeon and the compassionate care he provides as a doctor have changed my life. I am four months out from my bypass and am almost 70 pounds lighter. Four months and 70 pounds! I can climb stairs again! I sleep better! And, most importantly, I have had zero complications since my surgery with Dr. Framazing. (Yes, that is what I call him because, quite frankly, it fits.)

I have been overweight all of my life but didn’t become morbidly obese (wow that is a hard thing to type) until my mid-20s after childbirth. For almost 20 years I carried around an extra 120 or so pounds. I tried diets, of course, with minimal success that I was never able to sustain for long. Then, in 2009, I had a lap band placed by a doctor here in my hometown. After 18 months, weight loss of about 70 pounds, and several months of pain and agony accompanied by an almost constant feeling of having something stuck in my stomach/esophagus, the band completely slipped, requiring emergency surgery as it was cutting off the circulation to my stomach tissue, causing me to throw up blood, and also causing pain that was so excruciating that it took two doses of morphine and one dose of another IV pain killer to even touch the pain once I was finally admitted to the hospital 48 hours after it slipped. As a side note, I have a pretty high tolerance for pain. All three of my kids were delivered naturally with no pain meds. I can handle pain but when that band completely slipped, that was a whole different level of agony. Let’s just say that I can’t ever watch that scene from Braveheart again where Mel Gibson is getting disemboweled. To say that having the lap band placed was a mistake is a GROSS understatement! I am lucky to be here typing.

So fast forward 4 years after the removal through a bout of serious depression brought on by the loss of the tool that had been sustaining my weight loss, a denial by my insurance to have a bypass after the band slipped and weight gain of almost 80 pounds, to May of this year when a friend underwent a bypass with this doctor from Skokie who she kept raving about. I had to check this guy out!

My health was beginning to deteriorate. I struggled with everyday, basic movement. I was 47 years old, weighed 285 pounds and was getting to the point where I couldn’t take care of regular everyday activities. My knees were failing; my feet hurt constantly; I was out of breath regularly after minimal activity, like walking from the parking lot into my office carrying my briefcase; I wore out shoes in a matter of weeks; I couldn’t even walk down steps normally. And, not to discount, I was beyond embarrassed by the way I looked.

Enter Dr. Frantzides. This guy! Wow! Not only is he blessed with the surgical skills of a superhero; he is an amazing person to boot! He actually cares incredibly deeply about his patients. Now, I know other doctors care about their patients, too, but when was the last time you had a doctor sit down with you in his office for over 2 hours, one-on-one, to assure you had all of your questions answered? Or when was the last time you had a doctor dedicate himself to doing everything in his power to ensure he would not have to open you up completely during surgery even if it meant working on you laparoscopically for over 5 hours when open surgery would have taken probably half that time? Or, finally, when was the last time that you had a doctor personally call you everyday for a week to check to make sure you were doing ok because you had gotten yourself so dehydrated that you had to go to the emergency room? Not only did Dr. Frantzides do all of these things, but he also made sure that my mother was not completely beside herself with worry about me after surgery and after the ER visit. These are a few of the reasons why I call him Dr. Framazing. He really is absolutely amazing…547 reviewers don’t lie.

In closing, I would just like to say that if you are considering the lap band, please don’t. Those things are incredibly dangerous. And, if you are considering WLS, give a lot of serious thought to the surgeon you will use. I live a little over 200 miles from Dr. Framazing’s office. I am a secretary for a school district; I don’t make a ton of money, have 3 kids and myself in college currently, and my insurance didn’t cover this surgery but I made this happen with Dr. F. because I knew that he was the absolute right man for the job. It’s your life and your long-term health; you want and need the best of the best for a commitment as big as this. There probably are a handful of other surgeons out there with surgical skills that approach Dr. Frantzides, but I know in my heart of hearts that there are no other doctors out there that have those skills combined with the compassion that Dr. Frantzides possesses. This makes all the difference in the long and short term. Do what you have to do. You won’t regret it because this man really is truly Framazing!

Dec. 30, 2015, Updated: Jan. 2, 2016

Overall
avatar

I’ve always believed that every person has a story. I am also convinced that every person who is morbidly obese has an extremely complicated story. The story line of the morbidly obese individual is filled with shame, embarrassment, interventions, “hoping against hope”, as well as pain. Yet, many times friends, family members, colleagues and even physicians have offered advice to these complicated stories…and yet they don’t even understand the question…but they have all the answers.
My story is probably typical. I’ve spent my entire adult life struggling with my weight. I have tried every diet in the world. Purchased multiple pieces of exercise equipment. Joined and unjoined several fitness centers in my city, multiple times.

My weight continued to climb to over 300 lbs. So in 2006, I sought out a local surgeon to pursue the lap band procedure. Little did I know that according to a study in 2006 by Suter, Calmes and Paroz, lap band surgery failure occurs in up to 50% of all patients. According to this study, one of the leading causes of lap band failures is “band slippage”. Band slippage is when the lower stomach slips through the implanted band creating a bigger pouch above the band.

I sure wish I ‘d read that study prior to having my surgery because my band, like the bands of many others, slipped and needed to be removed.

As could be expected, after my band was removed I began to gain weight again. So I made the decision to have the lap band surgery performed again by a different surgeon, thinking that was the issue. However, after about 18 months this second band had to be removed because of band intolerance. I had symptoms of excessive vomiting and a continuous feeling of discomfort. Basically, I traded the negative quality of life associated with morbid obesity for the negative quality of life associated with having a device in my body that my body would not accept.

Getting the first lap band surgery was a mistake. Getting the band replaced with another band was one of the biggest mistakes I’ve made in my life.

After the second band was removed, my weight gain continued. My long time partner was diagnosed with cancer and died in 2013. My morbid obesity story was getting to the point of no return. I was looking in my crystal ball and my health issues were increasing. I knew that if I wanted a different life, I needed to do something to reclaim it.

I began researching Gastric Bypass surgery. Since my two lap band surgeries had failed, the cornerstone of this decision was going to be choosing the right surgeon, no matter how far I would need to travel to find this surgeon. My extensive research kept leading me towards Dr. Frantizdes in Skokie, Illinois.

Being from Illinois, I knew that Skokie was near Chicago, about 4 hours from my home. In February of 2015, I started this new chapter of my weight loss surgery journey by making an appointment for a consultation visit with Dr. Frantzides.

When I initially pulled into the parking garage at Dr. Frantzides’ office, I was completely out of my comfort zone. Dr. Frantzides’ office is in a professional building, and that professional building is in a mall. I am from a fairly small city. We don’t have doctors’ offices in professional buildings in malls. Despite this, I knew immediately upon walking into Dr. Frantzides’ office that I was in the right place as I was greeted by his fabulously efficient and caring assistant, Teresa, followed shortly thereafter with a warm welcome by Dr. Frantzides himself.

Dr. Frantzides took over an hour to explain the weight loss surgery options, the benefits and the risks of each procedure. He then explained to me the reasons behind my obesity. At no point during that visit did I ever feel like “I was just another overweight person seeking surgery.” In fact, he made me feel like I was the most important person he had to talk to that day. What a gift!

During my appointment, Dr. Frantzides assured me that he would be there to support me all the way. I couldn’t help but think that he was too good to be true. He said, “Call me day or night if you have any concerns, and I will personally call you back.” Much to my amazement, that is exactly what he did! I couldn’t help but think, “What?!?!? An answering service doesn’t call you back?!?! Who is this guy???” But Dr. Fantzides is a person of his word. He does call you back, personally.

Dr. Frantzides has incredible people skills, and skills of compassion for which he has won several awards. However, I didn’t choose Dr. Frantzides because of these skills. I choose him because of his surgical skills. I wanted the best surgeon in the nation! After months of researching gastric bypass surgery, that is what I got!

Assured of his level of care and convinced of his surgical skills, on May 27, 2015, I had my gastric bypass surgery. The surgical team he assembles, the hospital staff and the hospital provisions he puts into place are of the highest quality.

Since surgery I have lost 43lbs. But more importantly, I have started the process to reclaim my life. The morning I was discharged from the hospital I told Dr. Frantzides, “You surely have done your part. Now it is my turn to do mine.”

In closing, my advice to anyone contemplating this decision is short and simple:
#1: Do you own research.
#2: Don’t wait until you’ve gained so much weight that you’ve lost your vision for a better life. Today is the day for reclaiming your life and WRITING YOUR OWN NEW STORY!

Good luck and Godspeed!

Jill Grove

Aug. 5, 2015

Overall
avatar

I have now become another one of those people who say “I wish I would have done it sooner”.
I had my surgery with Dr. Frantzides 2 years ago, and it has completely transformed my life. I had a Roux-en Y Gastric Bypass, hiatal hernia repair, cholecystectomy, ventral hernia repair, all performed laparoscopically as promised to me when I first saw the doctor. I stayed in the hospital for 1 night as also promised to me. The initial time after surgery was very doable, minimal pain, dietary restrictions/guidelines directly from Dr. Frantzides. They were simple and also easy to follow. Before surgery I read on the internet a lot and I can say that Dr. Frantzides does things differently. I can also say that it works. He keeps the process simple, just have to do what he says.
Today I can eat whatever I want because Dr. Frantzides did not cut my vagus nerve like the rest of surgeons do, so I don’t have “dumping”, never once did I experience that. I have been able to maintain my weight loss without much of an effort, and in fact I am getting ready for my tummy tuck. I never imagined I would say that I will have a “tummy tuck” and here I am. I truly have been given a new life. I went from being a 50+ woman, depressed about getting older, sicker, and continuously getting bigger. I had major sleeping problems, major regurgitation due to my hiatal hernia, and my gallbladder was giving me problems almost daily.
Dr. Frantzides has given me a new/better life via the surgeries he performed on me perfectly, especially the gastric bypass. This is what I am grateful for every single day when I look in the mirror, and anytime I get a complement, which happens often now !!!
Thank you Dr. F.

July 29, 2015

Overall
avatar

If the universe has aligned in a certain way and you are researching Dr. Frantzides & his procedures, then it is a sign you are in the right place. My story may be similar to yours, but through a series of other doctor referrals - I found myself getting serious about making a positive change in my health and found him, found my answer. You can feel free to contact me about my own journey and success thus far, because I was perhaps the most apprehensive about this surgery. That was over #135 pounds ago - within the first 6 months!

There are self actualized people who are doing what they are supposed to be doing,. this is Dr. Frantzides. Professional. Honest. Skilled. If you have exhausted your options of health, fitness and diet control. Make the leap. Finding Dr. Frantzides is like finding the golden ticket to your success. Stop reading on the internet about weight loss surgery and so much mis-information - get on his program. It will work if you do your part. It is not easy and there are some consequences to your choice and I am still learning the eating process. The great thing is instead of avoiding activities - my knees feel better and I have joined a gym and am working out instead of eating. My social life is on the rise and I am not isolating. The minimally invasive approach he follows reduces recovery time. Preserving the nerves in your stomach makes life normal no sweating or dumping as you hear about - just less food and reduced portions and hunger when you need to eat. The team he is surrounded by is very professional and empathetic to an obese patients needs.

Sometimes we cannot turn back the clock and fix our past. But Dr. Frantzides can help you get to your next 5 years and remainder of your life in a better place. Good luck to you on your journey and thanks to Frantzides and his team for helping me.

April 7, 2015

Overall
avatar

My journey started in 2006 when I went to a weight loss seminar that was being held by a couple of surgeons in the western suburbs, they discussed gastric bypass along with Lap band surgery. I was intrigued so i made an appointment to so the doctor and after some lengthy discussions decided to go with the Lap band. The reason I chose the lap band was the fact that I was reassured that it was less invasive and it could be reversed easily. IT WAS THE COMPLETE OPPOSITE! The band seemed to work the first year but then after that I started gaining weight, they made adjustments and made it tighter and tighter and it didn't matter I could eat anything I wanted. Years went by and no matter what I did the band did nothing but cause discomfort while eating but did not restrict anything. Unfortunately the band that was non invasive and easily reversed had now really starting causing problems, I started searching out surgeons in IL to help me with this and no matter where I searched it all came back to Dr. Frantzides. I was super impressed with all the fine reviews I was finding along with all the publications and procedures that had Dr. Frantzides name attached to it. I decided to call and make an appointment even thou I was a bit nervous because anyone with accomplishments such as a doctor like this had to have a head larger than the sears tower and at that time I needed someone that was going to be compassionate to my situation and not boast about how great they are.

I called their office and spoke to Teresa, she was not only knowledgeable she was unbelievably pleasant to speak to. She was able to get me in within a week even thou it was right around the holidays. So the day was here I get to sit down with the King of gastric bypass Dr. Frantzides, Boy was I surprised Ive never met a more down to earth caring individual in my life! He took the time to listen to all my concerns and address them one by one. When I left his office that day I knew two things 1. I decided to go ahead and have the surgery 2. the only one in the world that I was going to allow to do this for me was Dr. Frantzides.

Fast forward to Surgery day....... I'm at St. Francis hospital and the staff is Great! they get me settled in, And I had a whole team of people come and meet with me. They discussed everything that was going to happen who they were and how they would be assisting the Doctor with the surgery. It was go time, the anesthesiologist gave me a little happy juice and the rest of that day is a blur. when I woke up I was in a beautiful suite with my family there to greet me. I was in some pain and that was to be expected but what my family had to tell me next was a bit alarming, the surgery took almost twice as long as expected and there was complications due to the band. When I spoke to the doctor about it he informed me that it was a challenge but it was nothing that he couldn't handle. He truly makes this look easy but I'm sure its not, I would be willing to bet that if it had been any other surgeon the would have opened me up instead of completing it laproscopically.

As challenging as the healing process can be I cant say enough about Dr. Frantzides and Teresa, they came to the hospital to check on me everyday. Once I was home Teresa called me everyday and if I had any questions for the doctor he would call me as soon as he got out of surgery. I am now a month out and am down 35 lbs and I'm feeling great. If you are considering weight loss surgery and you are looking for a surgeon, stop your search has ended because it doesn't get better than this.

March 5, 2015

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I had my gastric bypass surgery on October 27th 2014 and I am amazed at not only my results, but the care and attention I receive from both Dr. Frantzides and Theresa, his secretary/assistant. I have lost almost 70lbs in three months, my liver is no longer enlarged, I can walk without gasping for air and I have a smile on my face at all times! I feel like I have been and will be well taken care of as far as my surgical and weight loss journey and I would highly recommend Dr. Frantzides to anyone who would be considering any type of weight loss surgery. It has been and continues to be the journey of a lifetime that I wouldn't trade for anything. My 41st birthday is in less than 3 weeks and I can't think of a better way to celebrate than with 20% of my body gone!!

Thank you Dr. Frantzides (and Theresa) for all you have done for me and for all that continue to do!!

Jan. 22, 2015

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I haven't always been over weight but after having my daughter the pounds seemed to just keep adding up. I came to Dr Frantzides about two years ago from word of mouth . I was not ready to commit at that moment but not even two years later i found it hard to: take my daughter to the park, walking up stairs and even getting up from the floor. I did more research on Dr Frantzides and he is one of the top Doctors in Chicago. I am ready to take my life back and i am confident he will help me be a better healthier me .

Jan. 22, 2015

Overall
avatar

I had my initial consultation with Dr. Frantzides in late August 2014. I was fortunate that I have good insurance and it was a very short process from my initial consultation to the actual surgery date of October 22, 2014. From the very moment that I was contacted by Teresa in Dr. Frantzides office for the inital consult until my post-op checkup today October 30th, they both make you feel as if you are their only patient in their practice. First point of contact, that darling Teresa, is without a doubt an huge asset to Dr. Frantzides practice. Her knowledge, expertise, caring personality and thoroughness is unmatched in the medical profession today. You have their undivided attention and the attention and care is unmatched and unsurpassed by any other medical professionals. I can say that I have never met such a caring, professional, intelligent, sophisticated surgeon or person of the medical profession in my 60 years on this earth as Dr. Frantzides. There was never one moment of doubt and I KNEW instantly that I was at the best Bariatric Surgeon on this earth that would start my weight loss journey to a normal, healthy and long life.

Oct. 30, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.