Constantine T. Frantzides

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 557 ratings

Constantine T. Frantzides Bariatric Surgeon M.D., PhD, F.A.C.S.
lapobesitysurgery.com Write Review

Constantine T. Frantzides's Photo

23 yr Experience

19 yr in Bariatrics

21 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

14 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

70% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 15

Max Age of Patient is 70+


557 Reviews for Constantine T. Frantzides
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Frantzides is as good as they get. He’s incredibly experienced and knowledgeable. A pioneer in laparoscopic surgery, he literally “wrote the book” on gastric bypass procedures. I also appreciate his compassion. When I was contemplating surgery, he took almost 2 hours to answer all my questions. Not only did he make me comfortable, but he also addressed my wife’s concerns. We knew before going in that we were in good hands. The surgery went off without a hitch. The experienced surgical team was like a well-oiled machine. After the surgery, Dr. F provided me with his personal cell phone and made himself available 24 hours. That’s right…no answering service, just a direct call to the doctor! And many thanks to Teresa, the kind and caring assistant who kept everything on track from paperwork, insurance, scheduling, questions…you name it! My surgery was a perfect success, and I'm feeling great!

Jan. 30, 2018

Overall
avatar

For most of my life I had abdominal pain. When I was in middle school it was so bad that I went for barium tests and they found a bleeding esophagus. At that time they thought it was from dry swallowing pills, which is reasonable. However, this continued in high school and in college I went for upper EGDs. I started being in pain all the time, constant heartburn, constant discomfort. I started to eat and eat to suppress the pain. I gained a lot of weight and it hurt my body even more. I went to multiple specialists, all telling me to lose weight as it would fix my esophageal bleeding ulcers and weak LES but since I had them when I was a skinny kid, I knew it wouldn’t totally heal the ulcers. I took a variety of PPIs but they didn’t really help completely. I lost a bunch of weight on my own, but I was still in pain. I went back to eating to suppress the pain. I felt I had no control over my pain. Finally after graduation I went to Mayo and they also indicated the PPIs were still the best they could do and then a Nissan Fundiplication at some point. Again the doctor told me the only reason I was sick was because I was overweight. I was sick of hearing this as I knew that the only reason i was overweight was because I was hurting 24/7. I was truly miserable. I went to yet another specialist and he thought I needed surgery but was going out of town for 6 months, and at that point someone referred me to Dr. Frantzides.

From the beginning, Dr Frantzides was extremely thorough and caring. I was happy that someone didn’t just tell me to lose weight and get out. He sat down listened to all the details that have bothered me for years. He told me I was normal and that many others have similar pain. It made me fell comfortable to hear this, as if I did not have to struggle anymore. He ordered testing and then called me back into the office, I had several abnormalities from birth. He explained his qualifications for performing laparoscopic surgery for all that was wrong with me and gave me a few options. The surgery went just as he explained, the recovery was just as he explained, and he or Teresa checked on me every day for over a week when I was released. I called him about minor things that scared me and he explained how they were normal and gave me ideas of how to treat any ailments during recovery. He was always available day or night, and when I had to call him he was very precise.

Dr. Frantzides did keep incisions to a minimum, he did the surgery just as he had explained. Post surgery he further explained after the surgery (with pictures from the surgery). I know exactly what happened to me; I am also able to explain my surgery to others, which is very beneficial. I will say that I was in more pain than others have expressed, for a week I just hurt so bad. It was hard to move, but I did everything Dr. Frantzides said and once I healed, I was pain free for the first time in several years. I’d go through that week of pain again and again to be pain free as I am now.

Unfortunately, I developed some rare post surgery complications. I traveled across country to see Dr. Frantzides and he again sent me for tests; I needed a follow up surgery. Once again, he did exactly what he thought he would need to do and I recovered more quickly this time. Again, I am now pain free and am healthier than I had been for several years. I have developed two hernias that will also need repair, but it is very minor compared to where I started. And through the recovery Dr. Frantzides and Teresa called to check on me and they again were available for any issues that came up.

I can’t really compare Dr. Frantzides to other surgeons. I do know his CV is incredibly impressive and the volume of all types of very complicated abdominal surgeries like mine he has performed is cause for a feeling of security. Add to that his kindness, thoroughness, and availability and I believe I was very fortunate to have been referred to Dr Frantzides.

I have never felt so good in my entire life. I look back and think about how miserable and truly uncomfortable I was. I not only feel good but I look good as well. I am very happy and I believe Dr. Frantzides was the only expert who was able to help.

Dec. 30, 2017

Overall
avatar
LT1

Hello!

I was the most skeptical person when it came to weight loss surgery. I felt if I had surgery & did not do it myself - I was not a success.. However, anything you can do to get healthy is success!

Take a look at my B4 and After photos - they do not lie!
So, somehow you wound up here reading this review. Maybe it is a sign?

Let me tell you about Dr. Constantine T. Frantzides....
He cares.. He really does.

Sometimes in life you meet a person who is doing exactly what they are meant to be doing. This is true with this doctor. Somehow he wound up in Chicago from the Greek Isles?! Our blessing as patients. Look up the reviews.. Books. Minimally Invasive genius. Top 50 surgeons in Chicago. You found the Right Doctor. I am being honest.

If I am going to allow someone to operate on my valuable body -- he is my choice. Additionally, as crazy as insurance has become - if you have issues with finances with payment or insurance - He and his team figure it out or provide options for you. Make the call 847-676-2200.

As impressive is Teresa Wojtusiak/Lead Office Manager at CIMIS Office/Nurse/Friend - What an Angel.

After being heavy for a while you loose humility. Meaning, so many people are so openly rude to you about your weight. I had over #100 flights when heavy. Trust me - I know the feeling.
When you walk into this office Teresa sees you as a person, not a body. So the first time you walk in - you feel welcome :)

Her family has had the surgery, she is very empathetic and just a really nice person :) She's the Pretty Blond of the story!

Additionally, if you ever have insurance issues (I DID)
She will do what it takes to make sure they pay what they are supposed to. Between Teresa & Dr. Frantzides you will find success.

FYI
I used to be on CPAP machine. No longer. Three blood pressure medications. No longer. Anxiety medication. No Longer. Vicodin. No longer. Cholesterol medicine. No Longer. No medicine, 50 years old, 15 years added to my life.

Social life and romantic life better too :)

Call them - they are located in the Old Orchard Mall/Chicago
I think this is the phone 847-676-2200
CIMIS Office
http://www.laparoscopicexperts.com/

OR - email me @ [email protected] if I can help talk to you or share my experience. Good luck on "your journey." Thanks for allowing me to share my story.

Dec. 18, 2017

Overall
avatar

I've always thought the phrase "a second chance at life" to be nothing more than an overused cliche. That was until I met Dr. Constantine Frantzides; I will never forget that day. To give you a little background about myself, I am a 30 year old male who has been overweight/obese for the better part of 20 years. Sadly, I come from a heavy family, so my genetics have been working against me my whole life. I have tried a multitude of weight loss attempts: Weight Watchers a handful of times, the South Beach Diet, psychotherapy. But nothing ever stuck. Sure I'd lost 75 pounds during one of my Weight Watchers attempts...but I put on 100 after that. Throughout all that, I had always been "opposed" to bariatric surgery. I wasn't against it from a fundamental standpoint, but I just never thought it was for me. The idea of permanently affecting my body in that way was too much for me to consider. Flash-forward to me in 2016 at my heaviest weight ever, 425 pounds. I have had multiple knee surgeries and was dealing with chronic knee pain. My back hurt. My motivation to do anything but work and relax at home was non-existent. And my weight was spiraling out of control. If I'm being honest, I don't know where I'd be right now; I could be looking at 500+ on the scale. But thankfully, my mother came across ObesityHelp. And she came across Dr. Frantzides's page. And she read the reviews...the hundreds and hundreds of overwhelmingly positive reviews. When she approached me with what she found, I was reluctant at first. I kept telling myself that I could lose the weight on my own. Sure, I said that a hundred pounds prior, but this time it was going to stick. But then a funny thing happened. I opened the webpage she sent me and I started reading. And reading. And reading. An hour or so passed and I had read at least a hundred reviews.

Thank goodness I did.

The amount of love and endorsement Dr. Frantzides received was incredible. Clearly, this man was special and for the first time in my life I seriously thought about bariatric surgery. The next day I called his office and was greeted by his receptionist, the incredible Teresa. Where I work, our customer service team is told to "answer the phone with a smile". They have nothing on Teresa. She guided me through setting up my initial consultation with such a friendly and caring attitude. I remember thinking, if this was how the receptionist was...how was the doctor going to be? Jump to the day when I finally came in. I had high expectations from everything I had read. My expectations were not only met, but exceeded further than I thought possible. What I figured would be a half hour to an hour consultation ended up being a two and a half hour appointment. Not once did I feel rushed. Not once did I feel uneasy. Not once did I feel ignorant. Dr. Frantzides explained every detail of the procedure, what to expect before, during and after. The complications. The pros and cons. The different approaches to bariatric surgery and how his technique differs. No question went unanswered. I have never left a doctor's office so educated and so confident in what my future may hold. After mulling over my options and discussing it with my parents, I decided to go through with the surgery.

I will skip over the boring "pre-surgery blood work and testing" portion. All you need to know is that Dr. Frantzides wants to be absolutely sure you will receive the greatest care throughout this journey. He maintains a close relationship with all of his patients. He cares deeply for everyone who walks through his front door looking to him for a renewal on life. On the day of surgery, I was introduced to his remarkable staff that he works with exclusively. Every member of his team was friendly and put me at ease on what is, admittedly, a stressful day. After only one night in the hospital, I was discharged and released to a new world. A world where I could finally start living the life I deserved to live. To look how I wanted to look. To be as healthy as I deserved to be. The first few weeks are rough. Nobody who has had the surgery will tell you otherwise. But there is one thing you really need the most in a time like that: support. And goodness gracious, did Dr. Frantzides and Teresa ever provide the best support. I have never had a doctor or their staff follow up with me after a procedure the way Dr. Frantzides and his staff did. Dr. Frantzides is never more than a phone call away and always willing to talk with his patients, no matter the time of day. This journey is long and tough and it is very comforting knowing you have that kind of support system.

It has now been 6 months and 2 weeks from the day of my surgery and I am down a little over 100 pounds. My back pain is gone. My knee pain is gone. My energy levels are up and I actually feel like getting out and doing things again. I don't obsess about food anymore. I eat to be happy and satiated, not to feel bloated and stuffed. I am becoming more physically active and feel wonderful.

If you've come to this page because you are considering going this route, let me impress upon you that you should seek out Dr. Frantzides. From the moment you meet him, you know your life will be changed forever.

I don't know where I would be without Dr. Frantzides. But I do know that I am headed toward a healthy life full of happiness BECAUSE of Dr. Frantzides.

Dr. Frantzides, if you're reading this. You...youuuu...you have a gift, my friend...you're good you. You...you're good. Thank you for everything you have done for me. There aren't enough words in every language on Earth to express how thankful I am that I've been able to interact with you. No one will ever be able to thank you as much as you deserve to be thanked. You are giving people the gift of life and that's something special.

Dec. 6, 2017

Overall
avatar

I was struggling with obesity all my life. In 2007 I had to fly to NY to have a sleeve gastrectomy. I was told that I was one of the few first to undergo this surgery. For the first 2 years after this procedure I kept loosing weight and that made me happy. Gradually, however, month after month I regained the weight and more. I tried everything and anything, as before the surgery, but nothing worked. I was back researching on the internet and I came across this website. Naturally I wanted to meet the Doctor that had the most reviews on obesityhelp.com and so I did, and what a blessing that was. At that time I lived in SC but I didn't hesitate to fly in to Chicago and meet this renowned surgeon. I was not disappointed. To make the long story short I had a laparoscopic revision to gastric bypass with Dr. Frantzides in 2011 and I am now and have been ideal body weight, and it is my hope and believe that it will remain as such for a long time to come. Thank you Dr. Frantzides!

Oct. 24, 2017

Overall
avatar

I came across Dr. Frantzides profile on obesityhelp around August 2016. I was very impressed with all of his positive reviews and years of experience. At the time, I was uncertain if bariatric surgery was an option for me, but I knew that something had to be done, as I could no longer fight obesity on my own. When I finally decided to call Dr. Frantzides office, I was greeted by a warm hearted woman named Teresa. She was able to schedule my consultation appointment that very next week.

After my initial meeting with both Teresa and Dr. Frantzides, I was convinced that bariatric surgery was the right decision for me and that Dr. Frantzides was the right surgeon for me. Dr. Franztides was very confident, encouraging, compassionate, and he far exceeded my expectations. He took the time to answer all of my questions and concerns and assured me that I was in good hands. I walked away from that meeting knowing that I couldn't have asked for a better surgeon.

The date of my surgery was December 7, 2017. I got the gastric bypass surgery done, as well as a hiatal hernia and umbilical hernia repaired, which were both discovered prior during my pre-op examinations. The surgery went well and Dr. Frantzides was there every step of the way. I was given clear instructions of foods, meds, restrictions, and directions for everything that I needed to know. Both Dr. Franztides and Teresa came to visit me the next day at the hospital, as well as called me when I returned home that night. Anytime I had a question, they were available at all times to answer.

It has now been 4 months since my surgery, and I have lost a total of 70lbs following Dr. Frantzides instructions. Although I'm still on my weight loss journey, in this very short time my life has already drastically changed for the better. I no longer use my weight as an excuse to isolate myself and not enjoy life. I am more than satisfied with my experiences with CIMIS and encourage anyone who is unsure about whether to pursue surgery or not, to just give Dr. Franztides a call. Thank you Dr. Franztides for all that you have done for me.

April 10, 2017

Overall
avatar

I have been obese all my life. Few years ago I was convinced to have a lap-band with a surgeon at Nort-Shore. It was a complete failure. Not only I didn't have any substantial loss of weight, I was regurgitating and leading a horrible life. The same surgeon convinced me to have a sleeve 2.5 years ago. He missed the fact that I had severe reflux and hiatal hernia which he didn't fix. One year ago I met Dr. Frantzides who was recommended to me by my gastroenterologist. Boy do I wish I had come to him the first time around not the third time around. He spend at least 1.5 hours explaining to me all my options, he had me undergo several tests including a barium test for my reflux. I had my revision February of 2016. He performed a gastric bypass, he fixed my hiatal hernia, and the next day I was home. The nurses at St. Francis Hospital were very attentive to my needs, Dr. Frantzides has always been there for me since and Teresa is wonderful. Here I am 1 year later, 143 pounds lighter and very Greatfull!!!!!!!

Feb. 16, 2017

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I met Dr. Frantzides about 11 months ago. Prior to meeting him, I never thought I would ever have bariatric surgery. My whole life I struggled with my weight. I was a "yo-yo dieter." In other words, I would diet off and on. Consequently, my weight went up and down. I was called every name you can think of for being over weight. My family and friends teased me. I have five siblings and I was the only one with a weight problem. My mother had a weight problem also. I was her twin. She exercised and tried every diet on the market. I did that too, but I took it a step further. For about 20 years on occasion, I took diet pills and binged and purged. At the end of my senior year in high school, I started birth control shots. The shots lasted for 3 months at a time. My eating habits didn't change and I worked out regularly. However, I started gaining a lot of weight. I only weighed 146 pounds at that time. I started noticing my clothes were getting too tight. I worked out more and stopped drinking sugary beverages and foods. I told the nurse practitioner about the weight gain. She said I only gained 10 pounds and that I should just continue my work out routine, and eat healthier. I got my second birth control shot. I continued to gain weight despite my working out. I gained 30 pounds after 6 months of being on the shots. I was angry and devastated. The nurse practitioner explained to me the shots will either make you gain or lose weight, depending on your metabolism. I told them from the beginning I did not want any birth control that would cause me to gain weight. During this time, my mother had developed diabetes. I was scared it would happen to me too. The nurse explained to me that even if I dieted every day, it was going to be difficult to lose weight for a couple of years. She said the birth control would take that long to leave my system. I began taking diet pills and binging and purging on occasion. I was determined to lose weight no matter what. I would lose a little and gain more weight when I stopped the pills and the purging. It was madness! I was out of control. I started seeing a dietitian after a few years. I became very good at keeping food journals. I learned my body responds poorly to overly processed foods. It's all the delicious foods and drinks everyone loves. Oh well! I knew I had to get better about eliminating unhealthy food and drinks from my diet. By this time, I already had been diagnosed with PCOS (Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome). I was already scared to have children because I didn't want to gain weight. When I got the diagnosis of PCOS, my chances of being a mother were small. I was determined to keep trying to get healthy and stay that way. I wanted to be a mother someday. I knew I had to work out and eat healthy. The day I found out I was pregnant was the happiest and saddest day of my life. I received a call that my mother had died. She had been on dialysis for 3 years because of poor diabetes management. During my pregnancy, I was trying my hardest not to gain too much weight. I worked until 2 weeks before I gave birth. My job was physically and emotionally demanding. I thought I would only gain about 30 pounds. I ended up gaining 92 pounds. I was the heaviest I'd ever been in my life, 255 pounds. I was so scared I was going to end up like my mother. After all, I was her twin. I began doing research on bariatric surgery. I did this for a few months. I still wasn't convinced bariatric surgery was for me. I eventually came across the Obesity help forum. I just started reading all the reviews about Dr. Frantzides. I knew I just had to meet him. I called his office and spoke to Teresa. She was very friendly and gave me great directions to the office. Dr. Frantzides talked to me in detail about all of my options. He answered all of my questions. Teresa was extremely helpful also. I did not have a sitter for my 1 and a half year old son, so I had to bring him with me. I was trying to have my consultation and keep my son from messing up the entire office. He managed to go behind the front desk and spill coffee on himself and the desk. Dr. Frantzides and Teresa were so kind to my son. They gave him different things to keep him occupied. Poor Teresa ended up watching him while I had my exam. I have never met such wonderful health professionals like Dr. Frantzides and Teresa. I felt so bad because they had no idea I was bringing my son. Dr. Frantzides even helped me to the elevator with all of my stuff. A week later I started coughing a lot, especially when I would eat. When I went back to see Dr. Frantzides, I was still coughing. He had informed me that it was G.E.R.D. I had no idea. I had been waking up with sore throats, sneezing a lot and having trouble with my sinuses. I had, had surgery on my sinuses to open my airways about 10 years ago. I was thinking my constant trouble breathing through my nose was my allergies. It was the G.E.R.D. I was so scared and upset. Dr. Frantzides assured me he could fix the problem. I trusted him and had hiatel hernia and gastric bypass surgery. I also got esophageal dialations. During the surgery, Dr. Frantzides discovered I had a very rare liver defect. My liver was not attached to the abdominal wall. I was born with the liver defect and never knew. Dr. Frantzides fixed it for no additional charge. He saved me from having a future emergency surgery. The staff at Saint Francis is phenomenal! Every staff member I encountered was friendly, kind, and so helpful. The volunteer staff was great too. I was on the 5th floor in the south wing. I was told I would get excellent care at Saint Francis and I did. I wished I lived closer to this hospital. My pain was managed so well, I only had moments of discomfort. After about a week, I was moving around like I didn't have major surgery. I followed Dr. Frantzides diet restrictions just like he told me. I did not experience any complications. I can breath perfectly through my nose, I haven't experienced problems with GERD, and I have healthy eating habits. I learned what is good for my body and what is not. This was not an easy decision. But it was the right one. Dr. Frantzides is truly a phenomenal human being and surgeon. If you are reading this, you have found the pot of gold. It will be a year next month since I had my surgery. I have lost over 80 pounds. I feel absolutely terrific! I love my new life!

Jan. 3, 2017

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

3 years ago, I was 265 pounds when I first walked into Dr. Frantzides office. Based on my consultation with him, instantly, I could make a definite decision that I was going to have my surgery with this surgeon. His knowledge and confidence in himself as well as hundreds of reviews from happy patients were all that was needed to give me confidence that I too was going to be alright. This is why I am writing this review today, to give back to the doctor who took the time to educate me, who did my surgery perfectly, preserved my vagus nerve and I became one of the hundreds of patients who had a Laparoscopic Gastric Bypass BUT who DO-NOT “dump”!!!
I know now that had I gone somewhere else, they wouldn’t have preserved my Vagus and I would be literally “punished” anytime I ate “the wrong thing”. I was lucky that faith had me to come to Dr. Frantzides fist and he did the rest. I have lost over 100 pounds. I have since had a tummy tuck (also with Dr. Frantzides) and I am a new woman today. I also hope my review helps others find their way into Dr. Frantzides office, and they can have the best qualified, and experienced surgeon to perform whatever weight loss procedure they decide to have.
As for Dr. Frantzides, he is in my heart, he loves what he does and it shows.
Thank you Dr. Frantzides!!

Aug. 31, 2016

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I had a "Sleeve" 4 years ago by another surgeon who was very much pushing me for this procedure. I lost some weight the first year and to my amazement I started gradually regaining the weight. There I was again, struggling and going through the diets. Again I started researching my options. I have consulted with many doctors and surgeons until I came across Dr. Frantzides. I met with the doctor in November of 2014. I was really impressed with him and his credentials. I had a revision by Dr. Constantine Frantzides on January 2015. He did the operation laparoscopically, and I stayed at St. Francis Hospital only 1 day. The nurses were all wonderful, and they all re-assured me over and over that I was "in good hands". After almost 1.5 years I am approaching ideal weigh of 131 pounds. I feel amazing, and all my friends and relatives tell me that I look amazing too.
This is all thanks to the 'amazing" skills of Dr. Frantzides!!!!!

May 4, 2016

1 person found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×