Matthew A. Fitzer Bariatric Surgeon M.D., F.A.C.S.
www.virginiabariatric.com Write Review

Matthew A. Fitzer's Photo

11 yr Experience

11 yr in Bariatrics

17 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

11 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 73


avatar
Danielle Fitzer
RN, BSN, CBN
avatar
Steven Ross
Support Group Leader
avatar
Carol Ross
Support Group Leader
avatar
Heather Spanka
Patient coordinator
avatar
Amanda Smylie
Receptionist

50 Reviews for Matthew A. Fitzer
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

As the years passed me by, my weight increased. The increase in weight lead me to develop sleep apnea, diabetes and high blood pressure and cholesterol. After doing much research and not enjoying the path I was heading down, As the years passed me by, my weight increased. The increase in weight lead me to develop sleep apnea, diabetes and high blood pressure and cholesterol. After much research and education I decided to have Gastric Bypass. I “googled” VA Bariatric surgeons and came across Dr. Fitzer and his staff. I have had nothing but the best experience since day one and I have been properly educated! This has been one of the best decisions in my life! Yes- it is a life change but it can be done! Dr. Fitzer and staff are very caring and want the best for you! I am one year and one month post-op! Surgery date 01/27/2016 233 pounds, one year later 157 pounds!!

March 6, 2017

Overall
avatar

Dr. Fitzer and his team are totally AWESOME!! They are great communicators(ESPECIALLY AMANDA)! Thank you to Danielle, Heather, and Jessica as well. Dr. Fitzer is taking me on when 10 other doctors told me no for the revision. He has always made me feel comfortable and not nervous at all. He alot younger then my original doctor but I have just as much respect for him if not more then my Dr. Leo Davidson. (My ORIGINAL SURGEON) Hes 100xs better then the Surgeon that is CHICKENSHIT and made me go through everything to say he was too scared to do it. Dr. Denis Halmi of BluePoint Surgical. So again Virgina Bariatric Center is the place to go. I've driven an hour and a half up and a hour and a half back to see him and this is Northern VA so theres always traffic on 95. But it was worth every minute!!! Thank you Dr. Fitzer can't wait to see you on Tuesday!! Amanda and Jessica many blessings on your baby boys your expecting and I pray they come out easy, safe and healthy.

Feb. 14, 2015

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Very sincere and genuinely cares about you doing the right thing. He takes the time to make sure you understand EVERYTHING. NEVER a problem to ask a question or make a suggestion to him. Totally AWESOME!!

Dec. 25, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Matthew Fitzer Saved My Life! Dr. Fitzer cures diabetes 4 to 5 times a day. Doctors told me I was going to have my feet amputated from the Diabetes and I would likely be dead in less than 10 years. I Had Ruin Y surgery done in Nov 2013 and have lost over 127 pounds in 5 short months (beating the "Biggest Loser" Record)! For me... My diabetes reversed, feet returned to normal, my blood pressure returned to normal, I'm off almost all my medications, and feel GREAT! Dr Fitzer took extra time with me in surgery to make sure everything was done correctly. He and his staff are caring, compassionate, and are understanding of the issues overweight people have to overcome, and they keep me on track. Yes, this was life changing, My eating habits are very different than what I was used to, but at least I can say, I do have a wonderful life now! Dr Fitzer is a clear, articulate, straightforward professional that always makes me part of his "information rich" environment throughout the process. This was the Best Decision I Ever Made and I only wish other members of my family would have chosen to have it done as opposed to dying from obesity, heart attacks and diabetes.

April 29, 2014, Updated: May 6, 2014

4 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I had been considering Lap Band or WLS for a while before contacting Dr. Fitzer. After having four children in 5 years, the baby weight was not coming off like I hoped. I tried everything- diets, meal plans, pills, exercising like crazy- but the weight was not coming off. The tipping point came when my father suffered a heart attack, and I was diagnosed with pre-Diabetes type 2. I knew that I needed to make some permanent changes in my life, before I started to head down an unhealthy road. I came across Dr. Fitzer's website while searching for surgeons online. I scheduled a consultation, and attended a web seminar. After hearing everything that Dr. Fitzer had to say, and after consulting with him, I decided to have the gastric sleeve surgery performed. I had the sleeve surgery done in November, and 15 weeks later, I have lost 60 pounds! Dr. Fitzer is very thorough, he recommended a great nutritionist, he answers every question that I have, he is easy to talk to, and very knowledgeable. His office staff is very friendly, and they were able to get my insurance approval in four weeks. I feel great, I look great, and my attitude towards food has changed for the better. My blood sugar levels are normal and I am no longer pre-Diabetic. I am so thankful to Dr. Fitzer and his staff! Thank you for giving me a new lease on life, and thank you for my new sleeve!

Feb. 26, 2013

4 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I started my journey in September of 2012 and selected Dr. Fitzer because of his stellar ratings. I had talked with him about lapband but decided after attending his seminar that I would have the gastric bypass. I am so glad I met him and had him as my surgeon. He is top notch in his knowledge and care. What I love most about him is his passion and belief in what he does. I read somewhere that he loves what he does because he loves to see people happy. I have been overweight most of my adult life and have struggled for 32 years trying to lose weight. I probably have been on every diet imagineable. When I met with Dr. Fitzer I came teary eyed and was at the end of my rope and had reached my heighest weight of 243 lbs. I felt hopeful after meeting with him that I could actually lose weight and this is not something I felt in a long time. I was successful in every aspect of my life, but losing weight had defeated me. I had my surgery on December 28, 20012 and 7 weeks out, I am down 36 lbs. Postop I was impressed with Dr. Fitzer's personal care. When I called the office with a question, he always returned my call and answered the question himself. I still have more weight to lose, but I am well on my way. I am forever grateful for Dr. Fitzer and his wonderful staff in helping me achieve my weight loss.

Feb. 16, 2013

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Fantastic, I had concerns about after surgury nausea and vomiting they were excellent. My recovery was amazing. brought my BMI down from 56 to 30 315 lbs down to 170. feel amazing so much energy off all BP meds and diabetic meds whoo hoo

Oct. 17, 2011

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

As I have previously said Dr. Fitzer in this old guy's thoughts is one of the very best, and I would again as I have said "would trust him with my life" now on the down side, at my last visit last week he told me he will be leaving the Utica area and is moving to Virginia, there gain and Utica's loss, I am as of this morning down 108 lbs.
Take care and God Bless, USE TO BE BIG PAULIE, NOW AM Referred TO AS "POPPA PAUL".

Sept. 1, 2011

Overall

1 previous review. « hide

Dr. Matthew Fitzer...I have good feelings about him and I am usually correct with my first impression.
His office staff...one word .....fantastic and helpful.
He is a confident and direct Dr. answers all questions and explains all.
Yes he has a good aftercare program.
As honest as one can be and very reassuring.
I have complete faith and trust in him.
Thats all I can say for now, will add more after my date with him on the 9/1/2010.

Dr. Matthew Fitzer,
In one word, "FANTASTIC" he was and is super, he even went to the nursing staff and told them if they let me cheat and he found out that he would personally put his foot to there backside, I don't know about you but "thats a Doctor", just joking but he was great and took the time to explain things I had questions about, and what I should expect as time goes on, I have and would again, "TRUST HIM WITH MY LIFE".

Sept. 16, 2010, Updated: Sept. 1, 2012

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

WOW! I cannot believe I am 13 weeks out from surgery already! Dr.Fitzer is AMAZING surgeon.He reassured that my pouch was one of the best he has ever done..that made my hubby and I feel good! I would highly recommend him to anyone in my area! I do believe he does take people frm Canada also.
One of the best decisions I have ever made for myself! 55lbs lost in 13 weeks! WOW!

Dec. 14, 2010

1 person found this helpful

avatar

This surgeon was awesome :) very friendly and professional, also, wasn't afraid to tell you anything and everything that you needed to know straight out!

Sept. 21, 2010

1 person found this helpful

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×