Walter Medlin Bariatric Surgeon M.D., F.A.C.S.
Write Review

8 yr Experience

8 yr in Bariatrics

17 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

8 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

70% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

21 Reviews for Walter Medlin
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest

Amidst the LONG wait for SMDC (now Essentia Health) to become a "Center of Excellence," I endured a 45-month waiting period, before my surgery actually occured on Feb. 11, 2009.

Dr. Medlin had been with me since 2005, and I was NOT going to go anywhere else for my surgery, even though others tried to persuade me to go elsewhere in Minnesota, or even fly to San Diego, CA & catch a shuttle down to Mexico!!! NOPE, that was NOT gonna happen!!

Besides doing a great job on my Roux-N-Y gastric-bypass surgery, Dr. Medlin also repaired a Hernia which I had been waiting to have done simultaneously.

Dr. Medlin continued to remain a positive influence and was an ENCOURAGEMENT to me, even during the long time I had to wait. I had a surgery date in late Sept. 2008, & that was cancelled 3 days before, as my Diabetes numbers were way high & out of control.

SO...I had to jump through the hoops all over again, and re-apply for surgery, since my psych-evaluation was outdated, and my dietician appointments were too old/expired. <sigh>

I got another surgery date lined up for early December 2008, but that date was cancelled the NIGHT before surgery. Apparently, I was ANEMIC and had no idea about that, but the pre-op physical from early November 2008 showed my iron levels were dangerously low.

So, I had gone 11 days and 13 days in to my 14-day LIQUID PROTEIN FAST...and had both surery dates cancelled. And the tougher one HAD to be the 2nd one, because I was on my LIQUIDS during Thanksgiving 2008, while the rest of my family was eating a full Turkey dinner with all the trimmings. Meanwhile, I was sipping down some Carnation Instant Breakfast for the Carb Conscious!! (YUK!!!!)

Just a few days ago, I celebrated 3 years & 3 months OUT from my surgery of Feb. 11, 2009!!!

I am quite literally "HALF" the man I used to be.

In January of 2012, I finished my 90-Day Challenge with VISALUS (Body by Vi, protein shakes), & weighed in at 167 pounds!!! I was up over 330+ pounds at my high weight!!

My 30th Class Reunion is coming up at the end of July 2012, and I am currently wearing the same size pants & shirts I was back in 10th Grade (32 years ago)!!! WOW...and I never anticipated I'd be smaller NOW than I was at the time I graduated!! :) <grinning>

My diabetes is GONE.
Sleep apnea is GONE.
Meds: from 14 day pills & 24 night pills (38 per day), now DOWN to 3 pills & 3 liquids. My insides are working MUCH better after getting rid of so many medications!!!

I now have my Doctors' BLESSINGS to be going to the Personal Fitness Center & working out on any machine around. Years ago, I was restricted to only using the swimming pool or therapy pool.

Thank you, Dr. Medlin... you truly helped SAVE MY LIFE, and I am Forever Grateful to you, and the time you spent here in Duluth, MN. You were NOT the typical Bariatric Surgeon, but you were also a bariatric patient, which made you even MORE COMPASSIONATE of a Physician for me and many other patients here in Duluth!!

I was sad to hear that you were leaving Duluth, but I was SO THANKFUL that you were around long enough to peform my long-awaited surgery.

You ROCK, Dr. Medlin!!! Always!!!

May 17, 2012


I was Dr. Medlin's 5th lap band at St. Mary's in Duluth. He did a wonderful job on the surgery. I fell through the cracks though. Did not keep up with band fillings.

March 29, 2011, Updated: April 6, 2011


Thank you, thank you, thank you Dr. Medlin!

Even though he is no longer in Duluth,MN at St. Mary's, I am certain that anyone who has him could not ask for a more caring or competent surgeon.

The St.Mary's staff is also very supportive, knowledgeable, and caring. St. Mary's is a great choice for your WLS.

~Rhonda LeGros

Sept. 8, 2009

1 person found this helpful


I was given Dr. Medlin as my surgeon after having seen Dr. Pitt (and him taking some time off)..I first saw Dr. Medlin the previous January at the information session. I loved his calming persona...he joked around to make me at ease, all while remaining professionalrnrnI would rate him as a top notch surgeon, compassionate about his patients and excellent at his \"craft\". Unfortunatly St. Mary's hospital is losing him...but I will be forever thankful for his profound positive effect on the rest of my life. He is a truly compassionate and caring health care professional.

July 6, 2009


My first impression was: he is very personable & honest.rnrnThe office staff is very friendly & willing to help you meet the requirements needed to be approved for surgery.rnrnThe risks of surgery were discussed in length.rnrnDr. Medlin rates a 10.rnrnSurgical competence & bedside manner mean a great deal & both are great.

June 13, 2009


I met Dr. Medlin June 11, 2008. Dr. Medlin and his staff are very thorough. I just want to say what a terrific doctor Dr. Medlin is. Great bedside manner, answers all questions he's just great! Thank you Dr. Medlin for this new tool you've given me.

Jan. 6, 2009


Dr. Medlin was super nice and supportive
I went alone for my consultaion and the staff were great and so supportive of me being there alone.
I was nervous until I walked into open arms :D

Nov. 18, 2008


I havent gotten to the point yet where I meet my surgeon but as soon as I do meet him I will let everyone know.rnrnI did watch a video online that he did and he seems very likeable and friendly.

April 25, 2008


Dr . Medlin and his staff were very friendly and helpful during the entire process. I would recommend the Duluth Hospital to anyone.

Feb. 17, 2008


I was very happy with Dr Medlin. He takes the time to patiently answer questions and set you at ease. The staff at the clinic are wonderful, complimentary and caring. I would highly recommend Dr Medlin and his staff.

Feb. 11, 2008

The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. does not monitor or edit this information.