New to this looking for info BJH

BJH
on 11/2/06 2:20 am - Canada
Hello all I am new to this journey, I live in Airdrie just wondering if anyone in Calgary has had Dr. Mitchell Phillip or have anything to say about him.. Haven't been to family Dr. yet for a referal, just wanting more info on the whole thing thanks.
hobo998
on 11/2/06 3:05 am - Canada
I can't help you with any of the Calgary Dr.s .... i went thru the clinic in Edmonton and would highly recommend them. If you want, give me a call and i can have a coffee with you and share my limited experience. I had the lap band done on Aug 01-06. I work in Airdrie and can get away almost any time. Call me if you want 948-7804 and ask for Terry.
BJH
on 11/2/06 5:43 am - Canada
Hi Terry, thanks for the reply. Have you had succes with the lap band. I was thinking of going with the gastric bypass route. Don't really want to travel to Edmonton would prefer to have it done in Calgary.
hobo998
on 11/2/06 9:48 am - Canada
Hi BJ: So far i'm very happy with my band. I got my first fill on Monday and seem to have some restriction. I have to make sure to chew well and slow down my eating or i get stuck. I was 319 at my referal 300 at surgery and 270 today. I am very pleased with this weight loss and expect it to continue to my 1 yr goal of 239. I understand the not wanting to drive to Edmonton......I don't mind in the summer when the weather is good as I take my bike and make a day trip out of it. Got to go for supper...talk to you later Terry
LisaBoston
on 11/2/06 6:01 am - Canada
It is my understanding that the doctor you mentioned does not do RNY. Its really important for you to call the office that you are being referred to find out what procedure they do. I was on a wait list and then found out a week before I was to go that the doctor did lap band and VBG only, not RNY. So important for the patient to keep on top of the wait lists.
BJH
on 11/2/06 7:15 am - Canada