insurance information

ktnjp
on 10/26/03 5:12 am - Powder Springs, GA
Hi everyone, I have recently purchased an individual insurance policy through BCBS/GA. IT's a PPO. I know they have exclusions on obesity treatment, but, it does not state surgical treatment. I am wondering if anyone has had any luck getting approval with an individual policy and/or were there problems with the pre-existing condition clause? I have been researching this surgery for a few years. I am a fulltime student and SAHM so I do not have access to a group insurance policy. Any information anyone could offer would be so appreciated! Take care, Kristy
Michelle J.
on 10/27/03 10:59 am - Savannah, GA
Hi Kristy, I Have BCBSOFGA PPO as well. They will approve the surgery as long as it is medically nessecary. I called them on OCt 16th and as of that their requirments are: a referral from your pcp, a psych evaluation, and a dietician evaluation, also diagnostic testing, medical evaluations must be passed for clearance of surgery, and a BMI of 40 percent for the last three years. I'm going to see Dr. Duncan in Atlanta, and he has dietician and pshy that he refers you to. Also if you want to attend a seminar for a surgeon you dont need a referral. I would call them and just ask if they do cover it (surgery), and to fax you something stating the requirements. I have heard sometimes you also have to wait until your one year with them, ask that also. When you call ask who your talking to and their ext. that way if for some reason you don't get it, you can always go back to that person who helped you. Hope this helps!
ktnjp
on 10/27/03 11:24 am - Powder Springs, GA