Support for Spouses

Melissa Gatlin
on 11/2/09 10:48 am - Laurel, MS
Hi.  My name is Melissa and I am new to the WLS world.  My husband was wondering if there are any support groups for spouses of bariatric surgery patients.  He is having some emotional issues come up about my surgery and needs someone to talk to about this.  I think his biggest fear is that I won't be the woman he married and will want to find someone new.  Anyway, if you guys have any suggestions or help for him please let me know.  Thanks so much.
Miss Liss
on 11/6/09 10:35 pm
Hi, Melissa.  I think there is a forum on here for family members of bariatric surgery patients.  Go under forums at the top and it should be under WLS related forums.  He could check that out.  Good luck.
Melissa Gatlin
on 11/7/09 9:28 pm - Laurel, MS
Thanks, Melissa, for responding.  We found that forum just a few days ago and I've gotten a lot of good information from it.  Also, my husband will attend the local support group meetings with me if at all possible to get help that way.
Melora
on 11/9/09 9:00 am - Perkinston, MS
Hi there,

I noticed your doctor is Steve Weinstein.  He was mine, too.  I go to the support group that his clinic hosts at Mobile Infirmary.  They meet on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm in the auditorium at the hospital (same place they have the information seminars about having the surgery).  That means the next meeting is this Thursday night. 

Anyway, several of the people attend are accompanied by their spouses who participate in the support group meetings.  It's helpful for them, and for us.  I know it's a bit of a drive (I live in Perkinston myself), but it's a very good group.  Casey Frawley is the bariatric coordinator who leads the group.