I have 3 questions for the postops..some TMI I know

bogie
on 9/2/11 1:24 am - Canada
Ok so I have three questions for you post ops put there

1. How many days postop did you have your first BM...I am terrified of getting constipated as I have had some horrible experiences and I am taking stool softeners everyday. I am 4 days postop

2. My pain has seemed to localize on the left side below my breast. This is also the site of I believe to be the largest entry point. It is the only one that still has a dressing on it as it bled a fair bit in the hospital. I remember some other postops discussing this left side pain. Does anyone know what they used that for. Is that maybe where the camera went in? I am just curious.

3. Did anyone find their burps had a bit of a foul taste to them? i am assuming this just may be old blood and other things related to the healing taking place internally.
bogie    
HW 305.5  Optifast 290 SW  276.5  CW 249 GW 148  My angels are Connie and Leanne

Monica M.
on 9/2/11 1:31 am - Penetanguishene, Canada
1. i had my first bm a couple of days after surgery. The best thing you can do is drink as much as you can, and move around.  Remember that you're not taking in as much 'volume' of food as you normally do, so your BMs will be different than they were preop.

2. no opinion on that.

3. burps can be nasty, likely for the very reasons you're talking about.

(deactivated member)
on 9/2/11 1:32 am - Canada
1.  I had my first BM in the hospital two days after my surgery...then nothing for a few days.  Don't forget, you had been on a liquid diet for 2-4 weeks prior, clear fluid diet for 48 hours immediately prior to the surgery then very little afterwards.  Plus you are now on a high protein liquid diet, heavy in dairy...if you start feeling discomfort talk to your surgeon...