So... Never thought I'd be asking THIS question

Onward and
Downward

on 1/12/13 12:34 pm, edited 1/12/13 12:38 pm - Canada
RNY on 11/07/12

I'm no expert on this, but I can tell you what we were told at our 1 month post-op nutrition class at TWH.  (This used to be an appointment, but I think they did it as a class because they were getting backlogged, and then we met one by one with the NP afterwards.)

We were told that by around 3 months, we should be eating between 900-1000 calories per month.  Gasps were heard around the room, because at 1 month out, and just barely transitioning from purees to soft food, most of us could only get in around 500-600 calories a day, on good days.

We were also told that if we do measure calories, that we should ensure that a third of our calories come from protein, a third from fat, and a third from carbs.  I was surprised at that - I figured the protein would be heavier, and I'll bet that advice varies from dietitian to dietitian.  But I've been doing that, and getting good results, although I don't worry if I go over my percentage target for protein and under for one or both of the others.

But lo and behold, on good days now, at slightly over 2 months out, I do manage to get a little over 800 calories a day.  I think one day I reached 900 calories, and that was a great day.  So I hover between 650 (on really bad days) to 850 (on really good days), and I lose more on the higher calorie days than the lower ones, strangely enough.

I completely agree with what Barb wrote above.

This said - I'm not experiencing pain when I walk for exercise, so that's a difference between us.  I find I exercise more when I eat more, because I have more energy.  But I'd say if you're losing weight still, then you're probably doing all right.  But I'd check with your dietitian too, just to make sure.