Exhausted... Simply exhausted!!! Help with best food choices?

VintageChick
on 5/20/13 11:14 am
Did anyone else lose a lot of blood during/after surgery and get released with a low hemoglobin? How did you cope? In addition to recuperating from major surgery, I feel like I'm not gaining strength as I should. I'm easily out of breath, and I'd really like to pick up some walking. I've questioned my surgeon already, and he assured me my current iron stores would help build my blood count back up, but wow, I can barely care for my personal hygiene and fix my food as it is. I'm still on full liquid diet, but can transition to puréed/soft in 2 days. Ideas on some allowed foods that will help me out. As a nurse I have some ideas as well as my surgeon's food list, but as a fresh RNY patient, you all are the experts for knowing what may help me get the most bang for the amount of food my pouch will hold.
poet_kelly
on 5/20/13 11:18 am - OH

Try ricotta cheese with some spaghetti sauce and a little shredded parmesan on top.  You just have to nuke it for a minute or two.

Refried beans with a little taco sauce and shredded cheddar is good, too, and easy.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Amanda P.
on 5/20/13 12:55 pm
RNY on 04/03/13