Hi, newbie here!

rengirl1978
on 8/16/13 1:50 pm - Denver, CO
VSG on 12/18/13

Hi all :-) My name is Rhiannon, and apparently I joined this site years ago, but forgot about it. I was interested in the LAP Band a while back, but after finding out the difficulties of getting insurance to pay, I guess I gave up. But I am back now and ready to change my life! I have decided on the sleeve procedure. I'm still not 100% on having the procedure done.  still have to take a 4 hour nutrition class and I will make my final decision after that. But I am mostly cleared insurance-wise. Only 2 things left...the nutrition class and a psychological eval. I have the eval scheduled for Sept 4th, and then the nutrition class on Sept 8th. Then, after those 2 events, my surgeons office will submit for final approval.

I'm 5'4 and 260lbs. My BMI is about 44-45. I do have high blood pressure, but otherwise healthy. I am having difficulties losing weight now for two reasons: 1. My stomach has a real problem feeling hungry & not feeling full. 2. I have had a spinal fusion and my muscles just can't tolerate this weight.

I can eat and eat and eat & never feel full! Or, an hour after dinner, even when I have had a large meal, my stomach will be rumbling and cramping for food, it's ridiculous! I know I ate not too long ago, and I try to ignore it, but eventually I HAVE to give in due to the pain! My physician said to try and eat a handful of almonds, or something like that, but it just doesn't work. My stomach has gone haywire!

And then we have my back... I have a 5 inch scar just above the tailbone area where I have 4 screws, 2 rods, and a plastic disc living. During this operation, the surgeon had to slice through my large back muscles, so now, I get horrible spasms from just doing the dishes. My nerve pain is gone and the spine mostly feels good, but the muscles can't take the weight.