Officially applied for time off work...now I'm afraid!

Caribou_in_a_box
on 1/23/15 5:08 am

I work as a bedside nurse, and I am planning on taking the full six weeks off post surgery so I can fully heal.  I don't have enough sick time built up to take the entire six weeks, so I will be splitting it up: three weeks vacation time, and three weeks sick time.  My vacation has already been approved, so today I finally got up the courage to talk to my manager and apply for my three weeks sick time.

I am nervous as heck what her reaction will be.  I told her I am having surgery.  She did not ask (nor did I tell her) what the surgery was for.  I have only told one or two people from work that I will be having WLS, but I know that once I start to lose weight the gossip mill will be in full swing and everyone will find out I had surgery.  I am worried what my manager will think about me using sick time for a technically "elective" surgery.  Whether she finds out before or after the surgery, I am not worried about getting the time off, I know that surgery is surgery and she will have to approve the time off.  I am worried about how she will treat me afterwards, especially when it comes to things such as promotions, vacation requests, etc.  My manager and I are definitely not what you would call friendly.  Professional, but not close.

Have any of you had a difficult time with your managers after taking sick time from work for your surgery?  Each time I think about it, my stomach gets tied in knots!

Hislady
on 1/23/15 7:47 am - Vancouver, WA

You're really stressing yourself for no reason. If they notice and say anything just say thanks I've been working hard, period. Trust me they pretty much could care less one way or the other. Just let it go, don't give them that much importance in your head.

Ihearttennis
on 1/23/15 8:24 am - LA
VSG on 04/24/13