2 years+ post op, now GERD?!?

merwyns
on 5/7/16 3:51 pm
VSG on 01/14/14 with

Hi all, long time no post. I have always been more of a lurker, but I'm looking for some first hand experience and perhaps advice. The title says it all. I graduated last year from Nexium to Protonix, and then last week from one pill to two pills of it. And it's just not cutting it. I'm belching, constantly hungry/wanting to soothe my stomach. Nothing seems to be helping.

I'm starting to worry about a hiatal hernia. I had a small one repaired during my surgery. I was a lightweight to begin with and have been at goal since 9 months out. I gained a bit in year two in part due to being forced on a modified bed rest for 6 months due to an unrelated medical condition. But I, got to a good weight for the next six months. But five pound have popped back on this month as my symptoms have become bad.

Anyone get GERD this uncomfortable? How about this bad that didn't require surgery? If you needed surgery, what kind worked? Anyone NOT have to go to bypass?

Many thanks!

~Merrie

H.A.L.A B.
on 5/7/16 6:17 pm, edited 5/7/16 1:25 pm

Some people need PPI 3 times s day. 

There is also stronger PPI, dexilant. 

sometimes GERD maybe due to hernia...or good allergies. (the suppose to be: food allergies) 

Get tested for allergies. 

Of course I meant FOOD allergies... Not "good" allergies...  Stupid tablet..

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

T Hagalicious Rebel
Brown

on 5/7/16 6:53 pm - Brooklyn
VSG on 04/25/14 with

I'll stick with bad allergies. lol 

No one surgery is better than the other, what works for one may not work for another. T-Rebel

https://fivedaymeattest.com/

H.A.L.A B.
on 5/7/16 8:25 pm

Damn it.. Stupid autocorrect..