Bypass VS VSG

dondomit
on 12/29/16 1:11 pm

Good afternoon everyone.  I am new to OH (as of this morning) i started my journey in mid October and have a meeting with my surgeon mid February for a second consult, he is leaning toward the VSG, i am leaning toward the bypass.  i am 36, i have been heavy my whole life and my twin daughters were born on November 11 which is a major reason for a big change.  I have done a lot of research on both but i would like to hear first hand....which surgery did you go with and why? 

Don 1962
on 12/29/16 3:58 pm

Howdy from East Texas!

Good that you are doing your research.  You can't do enough.  WLS is like using a saw - measure twice - cut once.

You ask a loaded question and the answers will be like dirty socks and skivvies.  Personally I'm an RNY, nine years post op in April 17.  Went from 331 to 183 this AM.  My lowest was 165 when I had my gall bladder out 18 months after surgery.  I don't not like the 183.  For the longest I was steady between 170-175 but it has since crept upwards.  Why?  Old habits creeping back in.  I'm a chocoholic!  Plan for next year is to keep real deal chocolate out of the house.  SF is still acceptable.  If you don't know too much SF candy can give you the ****s since the ingredients include baby laxatives.  That is kind of an aversion therapy to eating too much of it.

RNY has restriction but comes with malabsorption issues. 

Sleeves have less restriction with minimal malabsorption.

DS you have less restriction like a sleeve but the malabsorption.

Bands give restriction only but may cause issues of their own.