getting started q's??

mamax5
on 3/24/11 1:49 am, edited 3/24/11 5:11 am
HI all,

As a newbie, i'm overwhelmed on where to start..
So i guess i'll start with questions first: 

Are you having surgery covered by OHIP?? 
Which surgeries are covered??

Anyone going out of province or country? 
What made you decide on your type of surgery or location?

Anyone pay for it themselves? Are the costs really around the $30 thou mark?? 

Can anyone recommend a good book about it?

and finally and most importantly,

what are the first steps i should take to insure a better success rate with my doctor (who for the record is an idiot!! lol )

Thanks in advance :) 

M.
trudylam
on 3/24/11 2:27 am, edited 3/24/11 2:30 am - Sudbury, Canada
Hi there, and welcome to our "family" :)

There are two surgeries currently covered by OHIP.  To qualify you have to meet some specific guidelines.  You have to have a BMI over 35 with co-morbidities (diabetes, high blood pressure, sleep apnea, etc...) or a BMI over 40 with no co-morbidities.  The RNY is the surgery that is performed unless your abdominal anatomy makes it impossible.  Things like stomach or intestinal surgeries or cancers that prevent the RNY may lead to a VSG (vertical sleeve).  OHIP has really restricted the number of surgeries done out of the country because they have overhauled the process here and increased the number of surgeries performed here.  You have to get your doctor to refer you on the bariatric registry and your surgical centre is based on your postal code.  The process can take about a year from the time you are referred to the time of the surgery.  I was referred in April of last year and I have done all of the testing required now and I am waiting for my surgery date.  I will be having the RNY at St. Joe's in Hamilton.

Best of luck to you :)

mamax5
on 3/24/11 2:33 am
Thanks

are there specific forms or anything i need for my doctor to refer me? or do i just ask?