What are you eating/doing today (Monday)

(deactivated member)
on 12/3/13 5:00 am - Bumfuknowhere, Canada

I've never had infusions and it's never been mentioned.  I have been battling low B12 and/or ferritin since about 2000.  I have zero symptoms of them being low so my doctors have always been amazed that I have tons of energy, sleep so little yet my blood work numbers suck.  Low iron just started about 2 years ago then it went normal for a bit now back to lower than normal.  My mother, sister, brother, niece and cousin all have a blood disorder that affects hemoglobin and iron but apparently I have been tested and I don't have it but I think I may ask to be tested again to make sure. Their numbers are always low but don't really experience the symptoms that someone without the blood disorder do so I think it makes sense that I may have it since I experience no symptoms either.

I had a vaginal hysterectomy, released in less than 24 hours and back to work the day after.  Now I didn't lift anything for my job so it was zero recovery to go back. I had more pain from my tubal than from my hysterectomy and my tubal was a walk in the park so this was even easier.  Hopefully if you need a hysterectomy that they can do it vaginally as you really heal fast.  Still have lifting restrictions of course but nothing outside to heal and other than some swelling inside, you have no idea anything was even done.

kellybelly333
on 12/3/13 5:42 am - Toronto, Canada

Oh Tracey, I forgot you told me that!! And that was just the uterus yes? I don't want menopause yet. Thanks for saying that, I completely forgot you told me already.

Infusions were never mentioned to me either, I advocated for them, simply because I wanted to get my numbers up fast (as I had been forewarned by a few RNYers who didn't take their iron, and regretted it by having low iron issues until they had one or two infusions). I didn't figure that I would end up not absorbing iron at all...so i'm glad I advocated.