when diagnosed?

kimberly M.
on 4/1/04 1:00 am - knoxville, TN
I was finally diagnosed when I was 42 years old by a nurse practitioner .I am a nurse and had never heard of this problem.My MD and my gyn had never mentioned it either and I had all the symtoms since puberty.Anyone else have this happen to them?I never tried to get pregnant so never knew was cystic or infertile.I hope the rny will give me a chance at a more normal lfie.Another question...After I was treated for the elevated male hormones my symtoms went away but also my libido and ability to have an ****** decreased ;anyone also had this?
Kristy T.
on 4/1/04 4:28 am - Stockton, CA
Yep...just like you. I have been PCOS since puberty as well but fortunately for me it was caught when I was 23...I am also hoping that the WLS will help me feel more like a woman. I notice that since my PCOS reared its ugly head my libido has really slowed down as well as my ability for ****** is very decreased...so just wanted to let you know that you are not alone. Kristy
Linda L.
on 4/2/04 3:26 am - Schaumburg, IL
I had no idea PCOS could be a factor in my lack of/decreased ******s - awesome information girls! I was diagnosed at 33-34 but know I've had it for many years. It was caught by the dermatologist when I went to get help with all the ingrown hairs my chin! She said she was sure it was hormones and that lazer wouldn't be a permanent solution for me (I'd already tried electrolyzis lots of times). Anyway - long story short, my gyno said I had PCOS without the cysts, but I never had an ultrasound done until reasantly and I do indead have lotsa cysts! Go figure... Linda
Dinka Doo
on 4/5/04 8:59 pm - Medford, OR