Do you think it's okay to have some now??

godsend213
on 3/25/11 12:04 pm - Fort Carson, CO
Hello. I am 10 days out of RNY surgery and I am still on full liquid diet. Do you think it would be okay to add a scopp of PB into my protien shake? I usually use the blender and make a protien shake with soy milk but I am CRAVING pb so badly. If it blend it, there will not be any chunks or anything. I am not sure what stage pb is allowed? What do u think?
Ladytazz
on 3/25/11 12:12 pm
My program allowed PB pretty early, and it was after 2 months. Have you tried PB2 yet? It is defatted peanut flour, peanut better with most of the fat removed. It is yummy and hits the spot when I have a PB craving. Trader Joe's sells peanut flour too which is the same thing but someone said the don't carry it any more but if you have one nearby you could always check it out.
If in doubt you can call your NUT.
babybooo828
on 3/25/11 12:15 pm
 I'm not a doctor or nutrionist, but I think it would be fine as long as it is your protein shake.

If you ate just the penute butter I might worry. I have read posts where some people said they ate it too soon and it didn't feel so good going down.

godsend213
on 3/25/11 12:19 pm - Fort Carson, CO
I was wondering if the reason you cant have it early IS because it's think and can cause blockage OR is it hard to digest or something, that's what I have no idea about. But, if it's blended to where it's not thick then maybe it's ok? If I am in doubt maybe I should just wait, or try it and see how I feel...lol
Tessie W.
on 3/25/11 12:25 pm
PB2 is the best for in shakes!!!

wendy3223
on 3/25/11 12:34 pm
 I tried PB in my shake about that early out, and it went just ok...really I didn't feel that great afterwards, so I waited a couple weeks and tried again, and everything was great.

I would say try it, but really just a tiny little bit, you'll know probably before you finish your shake if it was a good idea or not.

~W~

lorilea
on 3/25/11 1:11 pm - MN