7 weeks post op complications

ohangela
on 4/2/11 11:53 pm
I havent posted in a while. My surgery date was February 15th and I have lost over 60 lbs.I healed quickly but the problem was I had major complications from a catscan done after falling sick from pnuemonia. I ended back up in the hospital 4 times and started having problems with acute renal failure.  The radiaton from the catscan caused my tastebuds to mess up and everything tasted and still to some extent taste funny,. Still going to the kidney doctor and tastebuds are getting better. Water taste funny and i can no longer tolerate crystal light or my protein drinks. I am thirsty all the time. Any suggestions on drinks:?
cjack33
on 4/3/11 1:20 am - Hackleburg, AL
Hi My name is Cindy, I have been going through the motions of having RNY, and plan on having it sometime this year. But I am also a nurse and I was wondering if some things taste more strange than others. Like do you prefer acidic drinks, like lemonade, pineapple etc. The reason I ask is some of my cancer patients have the same complaint, that things taste weird. But over the years I have found that they tolerate the more acidic drinks instead of the more bland. Also try natural drinks, make your own lemonade, juice your own oranges,pineapple,strawberries, watermelon. It might work for you too. Oh and do not use metal utensils to prepare or stir or drink out of, they can leave a nasty metallic aftertaste. I hope this helps!!!
ohangela
on 4/3/11 5:47 am
I saw the trop 50 i did not try that pomegranate juice because it wasnt 100 % juice also the sugar is still pretty high. I tried the orange and it was horrible to me. lol my taste buds are shot.
Cookietea
on 4/3/11 1:43 am