purpose of liquids 2 days prior??

robynlynnm
on 4/3/11 6:53 am - Westminster, MD
Just wanted to know what is the reason for total liquids right before surgery other than losing weight?  Is this what makes the liver smaller or is it the diet before that makes the liver smaller?  Obviously, I am in the 2 day pre op liquid phase and not happy about it.  Can't stop thinking about food and something I want to snack on right now.

poet_kelly
on 4/3/11 6:59 am - OH
No, two days will not make the liver smaller.  That takes at least a couple weeks.

I'm guess just to make sure you have no food at all in your stomach at the time of surgery, but if you have questions about your doctor's advice, you should always ask him.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

unewillow
on 4/3/11 7:00 am - CT
Part of it is to encourage some pre-op weight loss and help shrink up a "fatty" liver.

Part of it is to make sure you don't binge on tons of crap the day before surgery.

It also acts as a semi-bowel prep, less solid food in your intestines to possibly cause a surgical ileus (slowing of intestinal movement that can lead to a blockage).

Debya6257
on 4/3/11 7:01 am - TX
My surgery is this Wednesday and I have to do the clear liquid diet 2 weeks before my surgery - but with the protein shakes I have not gotten hungry - but eating is a mind thing for sure. It's given me a chance to think and kind of observe my attitudes during the day when certain things happen and how I snack when I'm stressed, or bored at work - but it's going to be a whole different way of life soon... My doctor said this is to shrink your liver before surgery. Hang in there - so tomorrow is surgery day for you??

Deby