Anemic

Heidi L.
on 8/9/11 12:56 pm - San Jose, CA
Went into the doctors today and could barely open my eyes I'm so tired! It was to get my back adjusted and both the doc and nurse asked if I was normally this pale. *L* They did a CBC and Hematocrite.

Hemoglobin was 9 (ref range 12 - 16)
Hematocrit was 29 (ref range 37 -42)

Anyways, no I know why I feel like crap. Heavy menstrual bleeding and bleeding hemorroids and taking their toll.

My question: which is the most easily digested iron? I currently have Bariatric Advantages 29mg Ferrous Fumerate dissolvable tabs. I can only swallow tiny caplets. Almost 11 months out.

Pre-op  260.8#...Surgery 242#...Current 190#...Lowest 166#...Goal 155.8#

poet_kelly
on 8/9/11 1:16 pm - OH
Either carbonyl or heme iron.  Carbonyl works well for most people and it's a lot cheaper than heme.

They didn't check your iron?  Your ferritin?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Heidi L.
on 8/9/11 4:59 pm - San Jose, CA
Thanks Kelly! Not sure if they did. Only gave me those two results over the phone.

Heidi L.
on 8/9/11 5:03 pm - San Jose, CA
Do you know how much/day is the minimum dosage? for the carbonyl?

poet_kelly
on 8/10/11 12:31 am - OH
Well, the ASMBS says RNY folks should take at least 36 mg elemental iron a day.  Carbonyl is elemental iron.  The ASMBS says menstruating women  should take an additional 18-27 mg a day, for a total of 54-63 mg.