Constipation

Susan_U
on 10/1/11 6:20 am - Ontario, CA
I know you guys will be able to give advise on this.  Well, I hope so anyway.

What is a good way to deal with constipation?  I know I shouldn't strain for fear of messing up my new plumbing.  But I am also afraid of taking anything that I have in the medicine cabinet:  Colace, generic ex-lax, suppositories.

HW: 260  -  Consult: 241  -  SW: 239  -  CW: 206  -  GW: 140

There are three kinds of men. The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.
Will Rogers

poet_kelly
on 10/1/11 6:22 am - OH
Mirilax, if your constipation isn't severe.  It will help prevent constipation, too and can be taken daily if needed.

A suppository (I use  Dulcolax) if it is really bad and you need to go now.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Susan_U
on 10/1/11 6:29 am - Ontario, CA
Bless you, my child 

Cross your fingers...

There are three kinds of men. The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.
Will Rogers

Cecilia W.
on 10/1/11 7:17 am - Northport, AL
RNY on 02/06/12
On October 1, 2011 at 1:29 PM Pacific Time, Susan_U wrote:
Bless you, my child 

Cross your fingers...
Wouldn't that hurt?

(crossing your fingers while using a suppository, for those who don't get my weird sense of humor)
Susan_U
on 10/1/11 7:36 am - Ontario, CA
LOL. 

Ouch

Don't make me laugh when I'm doing my darndest not to strain...

Will Rogers

(deactivated member)
on 10/1/11 8:05 am - Santa Cruz, CA
Definitely the Miralax, but stool softeners are good to have on hand as well.