Ferritin level is a 6....surgeon not concerned

hellokittycrazee
on 10/5/11 5:43 pm - NJ

I just had my 6 month labs, and my ferritin level is 6.  My surgeon said that doesn't really mean much.  I trusted him fully to perform my surgery, but when it comes to this stuff I trust your advice more.

My iron level is 42 and hemoglobin 11.9.  Should I be concerned about the ferritin level?

Meg

poet_kelly
on 10/5/11 5:50 pm - OH
I would be concerned. 

How much iron have you been taking?  What kind?  Are you taking it with vitamin C, and if so, how much?  Are you taking it at least two hours away from calcium?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

hellokittycrazee
on 10/5/11 5:59 pm - NJ

Kelly I'm taking 65mg of ferrous fumarate with 125mg of vitamin C once a day.  My iron levels have gone up from 30 to 42, and the ferritin down from 14 to 6.  I usually take iron before bed, and at least 2 hours away from calcium.

poet_kelly
on 10/5/11 6:09 pm - OH
Well, I would increase your iron.  You might want to consider switching from ferrous fumerate to carbonyl, which is often absorbed better.  Plus it usually doesn't make you constipated.

You need more vitamin C with the iron.  We need 200 mg C for every 30 mg iron.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

SweetGirl11
on 10/5/11 6:19 pm
Meg,