PLEASE PLEASE READ AND HELP!!!!!!

blakely81
on 2/22/12 1:22 pm
IM NEW TO OH AS OF YESTERDAY I NEED HELP ,I NEED ADVISE ,IM 6 WEEKS POST OP GASTRIC BYPASS AND I CANT STOP THROWING UP. I CANT GET IN MY PROTEIN WITHIN 10 MINS OF DRINKING IT IM THROWING UP....I DONT HAVE ALOT OF SUPPORT AND WOULD LIKE SOMEONE WHOS GONE THROUGH THIS TO TELL ME ITS NORMAL OR IT WILL GET BETTER ..... ANYTHING LOL ...THANKS
Jenspunky
on 2/22/12 1:47 pm
RNY on 01/16/12

Not normal.  Are you on any medication for nausea?  Is it just the protein drinks that make you sick?  Are you able to eat solid foods at all?  
When you drink water, does that stay down?

I would certainly call your surgeon's office about this, ASAP.

~Jenna 
RNY 1/16/12

blakely81
on 2/22/12 4:12 pm
yes on nasua meds. no pretty much anything thats not broth or cheese i vommit, i just got out of the hospital and the checked for all that i had ulcers in my stoma and the opening was swollen shut...they dialated it a bit im home now but problems the same ....he just wants me on liquids he said leave the protein alone for now
Ladytazz
on 2/22/12 1:53 pm
Have you had an EGD to make sure your stoma is open enough?  This is not normal and if your surgeon is telling you it is then you need to find someone else.  I did throw up occasionally for the first 2 months but it wasn't on a regular basis and I was able to keep enough protein down.
If your stoma isn't too small then maybe you can get some anti nausea medication.  There are some people who unfortunately have a rough start but most of them improve.  This doesn't sound like that, though.  It sounds pretty extreme and should be evaluated.

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010

High Weight  (2002) 240 Revision Weight (2010) 220 Current Weight 115.

blakely81
on 2/22/12 4:17 pm