"How much have you lost"

rsassyjackie
on 2/26/12 12:29 pm - MA
 Luv it! Will be borrowing that comment!!!

wendydettmer
on 2/26/12 10:30 am - Rochester, NY
I get asked that question a lot and I don't' mind one bit. Given what I do for a living (run a childcare center, and deal with over 50 parents a day, plus my staff), there are a lot of people who i see all the time who are bound to notice a difference. I take it as a compliment. It was no secret that I was obese, and it's no secret that i'm losing weight.

It's not that I shout it from the roof tops, but I don't mind answering either. Everyone is very excited about my journey.

Follow my vegan transition at www.bariatricvegan.com
HW:288    CW:146.4   GW: 140    RNY: 12/22/11  

lillypond...
on 2/26/12 10:55 am
yea I know what you mean. I usually tell people when they ask me how much weight have I lost. I tell them when I got to 100 pounds I stop counting and just continue to eat healthy and exercise. I take it one day at a time. They usually say I heard that, that is good ( I have lost 175 pounds)
ToBeAble
on 2/26/12 11:11 am
I've always wanted to respond to that question with "Well...How much do YOU weigh?" I figure that'd either throw them off balance, and they'd realize it's not personal information they want to share about themselves, or if they DO answer, I can usually honestly say, "about that much".

Laura

RNY 7/30/10  SW 302/CW ~150/First Goal 155 (reached 9/2011)
Extended TT & Medial Thigh Lift 7/16/12.  Arms, Butt Lift 2/6/13. 

Ladytazz
on 2/26/12 11:48 am
I just say "Too much" because it's true and I can tell that is what they are thinking.
I've been getting a lot of doctor's and nurses asking this.  I feel like saying "You got my records there, do the math" but I just ask if they mean since my revision or since my highest weight since they are two different numbers.  If it's since my revision it's about 120 lbs and if it's from my highest weight then it's 140 lbs.

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010