Surgery the 29th

Victoria A.
on 10/27/12 11:14 am - MI
RNY on 10/29/12

My surgery is the 29th and I am so nervous!!! I was crying while talking to my daughter, asking what am I doing to myself? Is this normal?

CarolF3
on 10/27/12 11:35 am - Albany, NY
RNY on 12/17/12

From what I hear from everyone that has gone through it-yes, that is normal and then later they say that they would not have done it different.

It is normal to be nervous right before any surgery. I work in a hospital (the one that will be doing my surgery) on the Cardiac floor. All my patients feel nervous before any surgery or major procedure. It is considered a normal reaction.

You will be fine-just follow your doctor's orders and Team's instructions and you will be fine.

Today and up to your surgery make sure you exercise and then after your surgery you will be getting up to do some walking. It will be sore and you will be on pain meds. But, the sooner you are able (once you come out of the surgery meds) to get up and do a little walking the better and it will heal faster for you.

You will do fine.

Carol

Ann M.
on 10/27/12 11:54 am - Salisbury, NC
VSG on 11/21/12

WOW - My surgery is the 7th - I haven't gotten nervous yet. I'm scared stiff having to fly across country by myself. I can't understand why NO ONE will or wants to go with with me. The surgery is no big deal I guess because I've I had so many over my life time.

I think you'll do fine. I don't know you but if you weren't cleared for this you wouldn't have gotten this far! You are in the hands of professionals. And it will be over before you know it. Then you can let us all know how well it went. I know I'm excited to hear from you!! Just keep reminding yourself of these things. And that ALL of us on here are there in spirit with you - and eagerly awaiting your 1st post-op post!

Calm Nerves! And God be with you!!!!

jhnallington
on 10/27/12 12:34 pm - Elmira, NY
RNY on 10/29/12