Bariatric surgery abroad

amjm
on 12/12/12 11:08 am

Hi, I am in the process of getting bariatric surgery. I was going through U of Chicago hospital but I found out that my insurance would not cover the procedure under any cir****tances and you had to pay 60k upfront in full at time of procedure. I now am looking at a place in Traverse City, MI where there cost is 30k and allow me (or rather my parents because I am a jobless student) to put it on a credit card.

However, I have heard that there are places abroad that do perform the procedure significantly less. I have also heard horror stories of people having the surgery abroad. If anyone has had an experiance in surgery abroad and can suggest it? Possibly in England or France, or somewhere that has very Americanized medicine. I of course will not compromise my health for cost but if I could do it less expensively that would be ideal, obviously.

Thanks!

pastorkerry
on 12/12/12 11:35 am - GA
RNY on 12/20/12
Surgery in the Atlanta area cost between 21000 and 26000. Many have gone to Mexico and had surgery with good success for less than 10000. There are forums on here for those who travel to different countries for you to get good information from.
Worrygirl
on 12/12/12 12:57 pm - IL

I live in IL and had my RNY @ silver cross hospital in New Lennox. I was self pay and had to pay upfront but entire thing was $20,000. 

RNY 8/21/12

amjm
on 12/12/12 1:25 pm

were you able to put that on a credit card? And was it laparascopic gastric bypass?

Thanks so much!

Worrygirl
on 12/13/12 1:14 am - IL

Yes, I used a credit card.  Actually used my card that gives 1% cash back on purchases, which doesn't seem like much but if you charge $20,000 I got $200 cash back......  It was laparoscopic.,  The center is called BMI; surgeons are  Dr Lahmann and Dr Joyce (both are present for all surgeries). I've had zero complications and they have a great program.  The fee covers all their expenses as well.

RNY 8/21/12

amjm