Constipation

Feesttwin
on 12/22/12 9:02 am

I have read a lot of post re constipation and it seems like miralax is the most commonly prescribed med.  my surgeon told me to take milk of magnesia....I have and still have not went for a week.  I have taken the max dose the last to days and nothing.  Any suggestions?  I will be calling my surgeon Monday.  Surg date Dec 3

poet_kelly
on 12/22/12 9:20 am - OH

Dulcolax suppository.  Miralax is good for preventing constipation but not as good for fixing it if it's already bad.  The Dulcolax suppositories, on the other hand, will work in less than an hour.  I haven't had to use one in quite a while, but that's what I do when I'm desperate.  I use Miralax on a daily basis to prevent problems, though, and most of the time it does.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

redambruster
on 12/22/12 9:21 am - lebanon, TN
Buy some gloves and help it along if you catch my drift. Sounds gross but if your impacted that's what a nurse or doc would do. And continue the stool softners. Try getting extra fluids in to
angeleigh
on 12/22/12 9:46 am - angier, NC
RNY on 09/17/12

I was told to take 2 stool softeners a day. Or some form of stool softener every day. Just make it part of your vitamins. I buy the walmart brand and I take 2 at night before bed. That way I use the bathroom first thing in the morning.

Follow me on Pinterest!  SW/254 HW/276 CW/142  

Pictures: Pre-op, 1 year post op, 2 years post op.

Feesttwin
on 12/22/12 10:21 am

Thank you all!  

Mary Catherine
on 12/22/12 12:00 pm

You can also use an enema

thynnlynn
on 12/22/12 1:38 pm - MI