beginning the journey!

SlimInMyDreams
on 3/21/13 10:58 pm - STURGEON BAY, WI

Hi everyone,

I just recently attended the seminar at Theda Clark and have submitted my history form to Midwest Bariatrics for them to go over and get me through the pre-approval process.  I received my pathway letter and it seems I am in for a fight.  My insurance provider tends to be a p.i.t.a.

I have been working with my pcp on a low carb/exercise diet for the last 3 months and have been getting weighed at each appt.  I still need to have him write a referral letter to the insurance co. and order my pulmonary , nutritionist and psychologist consults.  I see him next Thurs for another weigh in and am apprehensive.  At the last appt. he expressed dissatisfaction with the fact that I had only lost 2 lbs.  Well, I wanted to cry.  I had a hysterectomy/bso in November and have been battling alot of hormonal changes, one of which is my weight.  He put me on metformin because my blood sugar levels were pre diabetic and said it would help me lose weight.  I have gained 2 lbs, lost 2 lbs, gained 2 lbs, over and over.  I exercise 45 min a day on my eliptical, eat low carb, and still I get on the scale this morning and I am up 2 lbs.  What the heck is he going to say that I gained 2 lbs!  I can't even lose weight on Met!  Truthfully it seems the more I exercise, the hungrier I get.  I keep track in myfitnesspal and seem to eat 1500 calories per day.  The bariatric clinic said I need to lose 5% of my weight before I will be approved.  I am not a slug.  I run a restaurant, home school my 12 year old and maintain a home.      I do not know what to do and am afraid he won't write me the referral because he doesn,t think I am trying hard enough.  25 years morbidly obese, lost 60 lbs on Atkins 13 years ago, I can and do know how to lose.  I just tend to gain it back unfortunately, which led me to this decision of surgery.  I know I shouldn,t worry about what may or may not occur, but I am at a very fra