Potassium

shedevilbecca
on 6/23/13 8:24 am - AZ
RNY on 05/30/13

My potassium is low and my Dr. wants me to drink a V8 a day or take this powder you mix in a drink. However, both make me sick to my stomach. The V8 taste awful to me and the powder makes me gag and my stomach hurt. Any ideas I can talk with my Dr. about to raise my potassium?

poet_kelly
on 6/23/13 8:26 am - OH

What about a potassium pill?  They are usually big ole pills, but you can cut them in half if you need to.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

PetHairMagnet
on 6/23/13 9:07 am
RNY on 05/13/13

V8 makes me want to hurl, so I am right there with you. Plus, the sodium is the last thing I want. I would find out what other options there are for you if the powder upsets your tummy.

HW333--SW 289--GW of 160 5' 11" woman.  I only know the way I know & when you ask for input/advice, you'll get the way I've been successful through my surgeon & nutritionist. Please consult your surgeon & nutritionist for how to do it their way.  Biggest regret? Not doing this 10 years ago! Every day is better than the day before...and it was a pretty great day!

Jodibee
on 6/23/13 9:16 am

My potassium was low right out of surgery so they gave it to me in my iv at the hospital. Then I went home with a potassium pill prescription for two weeks they are big pills but easy to break in half.

shedevilbecca
on 6/23/13 9:28 am - AZ
RNY on 05/30/13
I will ask about a pill. I don't want to hurt myself by not getting the potassium I need but there has to be a better way.

cajungirl
on 6/23/13 10:05 am