Going back to work

CubanQueen
on 7/3/13 12:43 am - FL
RNY on 06/18/13
Well after a few weeks of recovery I go back to work on Monday and I'm praying it all goes well. One of my biggest anxieties is all the questions of the surgery and how am I doing. I've only told 2ppl at work but considering I've almost lost 20lbs since my surgery I feel like captain obvious! Lol Then with eating such small meals & drinking shakes I feel have to tell ppl because it will be so obvious. I don't know, what to say. I don't feel like I have to say something but other choices do I have? The other thing I'm gonna miss is my cat naps .
poet_kelly
on 7/3/13 12:48 am - OH

You can say:

I had weight loss surgery.

I'm working carefully with my doctor and a registered dietician.

It's personal and I'd rather not discuss it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Eva1230
on 7/3/13 12:52 am
I work in a nursing facility and pretty much everyone knew that I worked directly with. They have been super supportive some even joining in and doing the preop diet with me and even following my high protein low sugar lifestyle.

I would get questions like...what can I eat, how much can I eat, do I get hungry, and every weekend when I work I get how much have you lost so far.

It doesn't bother me, but everyone is different.
Laura in Texas
on 7/3/13 12:53 am

Not sure what your starting weight was, but for many of us with high starting weights 20 pounds is not obvious. You may get more questions about why you were out for an extended period of time. Share if you want to or like Kelly said, tell them it's personal and you'd rather not discuss it. 

Laura in Texas