How to Mentally Prepare for Surgery

Jessica H.
on 7/10/13 1:19 pm - North Royalton, OH
RNY on 08/05/13
Don't get me wrong- I am no expert. But I've been kind of terrified about getting surgery so I've been trying to find techniques to prepare.

I figure it may be beneficial to other pre-op patients so I'm sharing with you.

I wrote a blog post here - http://www.thebariatricdiva.com/1/post/2013/07/how-to-mentally-prepare-for-surgery.html.

Let me know if you have any suggestions that aren't brought up in the post, or if there is anything else that has helped you prepare.

Thanks!!!

Jessica

http://www.thebariatricdiva.com 

Tanya64
on 7/10/13 1:27 pm
VSG on 07/25/13

Jessica

I am just like you - I am terrified, but I'm also terrified if I don't have this surgery! After today's visit with my physician I am really feeling anxious because he ran me through the room in under 5 minutes like I was a  herd of cattle.  I hope I am doing the right thing......

Tanya

Lisa82
on 7/10/13 2:18 pm

Jessica,

I just finished reading your blog post about preparing for surgery. Awesome ideas!! My surgery was scheduled for the 17th of July but I had to cancel, however I did reschedule for August 5. I am terrified (no that was not the reason for cancelation.). I have never had surgery. Well I had my tonsils removed when I was in 7th or 8th grade. Anyway, I am terrified! I keep bouncing back and forth between elation and scared to death. Reading your post has helped. Thanks for sharing your ideas.

Lisa

lynnc99
on 7/10/13 11:58 pm

Your blog covered some excellent points!

I was careful, though, about sharing my surgery decision with other people. I didn't want to hear the story of "my cousin's neighbor's sister in law's friend died on the table." I also believed that the decision was a very private one, between my doctors and me, and not something to be broadcast across the land. My personal decision, and not all will agree with that, but it worked for me.