thirsty while eating

bsouder2210
on 10/18/13 6:35 am
I am 2.5 weeks out and whenever I eat I get thirsty. I know i can't drink while I eat but sometimes I can't help it. Any tips for me to not be so thirsty? I already have dumping syndrome often and I don't want to make that worse but I want a drink so badly when eating.

poet_kelly
on 10/18/13 6:39 am - OH

Why are you dumping often?  Are you eating a lot of stuff high in sugar already?

Drinking with meals won't cause dumping.  What it does it wash food out of your pouch so you get hungry fast and can eat more food.

Drink a lot right before you eat and eat moist food. Take a small sip with your meal if you really need to or try sucking on an ice cube.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

bsouder2210
on 10/18/13 6:47 am, edited 10/18/13 6:48 am

I dont get a lot of sugar. I am too nervous hurt myself but I have a problem if my food is not thick enough. It was bad while I was on the liquid stage. my protein shakes are tough still if I just do water and the powder. I have to make them a bit thicker to keep them in my system. my Dr doesn't think it is the sugar but the consistency. apple sauce is bad or if I make my cream of wheat with too much milk it is bad. my doctor is watching me. She just calls me ultra sensitive. I also still have a lot of swelling so I am only able to consume 1.5 to 2 oz at a time 4 times a day. she said as long as it is at least 4 times a day thats alright.  I know I need the calories and the food and I dont want to fill my pouch with liquids before I get them. I think I just need to eat more moist food which is hard because I crave flavor of any kind.

poet_kelly
on 10/18/13 7:04 am - OH