Belly pain 5 years out

Megan B.
on 11/8/13 9:52 am - Southgate, MI

Hi,

As of Dec 1st I will be 5 years out from an OPEN RYN.  The past couple of months I have had awful belly pain.  As soon as I take a bite of something or drink something its almost instant.  It comes and goes.  I am noticing that it is worse during my cycle.  I talked to my pcp and he was shocked that I wasn't taking prilocec or something like that.  He wrote me an RX for 20mg.  Are you guys all taking this stuff too?

poet_kelly
on 11/8/13 10:04 am - OH

No, I'm not.  I think many people do not need meds like that after RNY.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Megan B.
on 11/8/13 10:17 am - Southgate, MI

They told me that its because we don't have the acid in our bellys like others and it causes issues so we need this to help break down the foods or to protect our bellys or something or another.  I didn't really comprehend what all he was saying.  He said that everyone in the practice that is his patient is on that he couldn't believe that I wasn't on something.

poet_kelly
on 11/8/13 11:23 am - OH

Prilosec reduces the production of stomach acid.  Since RNY patients typically have less stomach acid than normal, many of us don't need meds to further reduce stomach acid.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

ebtiger24
on 11/8/13 10:33 am - AL
RNY on 12/13/12 with