What 100 pounds looks like -hopefully w/pics

Karens62
on 12/2/13 11:21 am, edited 12/2/13 11:25 am - NC
RNY on 02/26/13

A year ago this week, I had lab work and tests at my Dr's which showed that my diabetes was worsening and I had a fatty liver. I made the decision then that something had to change or I was going to die and I wasn't even 50. As a nurse, I knew the risks and side effects of what was in front of me and I couldn't face it. I needed do do something drastic so I decided a RNY was for me.   While I've been stalled for three months, my body is changing. I haven't taken any diabetes medicine since my surgery date and have been off of all blood pressure meds for many months. The only prescription I'm on currently is thyroid meds. I had shingles a couple months ago which limited my activity for a few weeks but that's okay. I have lost almost three inches off my waist in the time I've been stalled and walked 8.5 miles Thanksgiving morning without any real difficulty. I could probably be stricter about what goes in my mouth, but I am eating healthy in reasonable quantities and I feel wonderful. A year ago, I couldn't have imagined that this change could happen and that I would be so thrilled every single day.   This is what I looked like 365 days ago when I made this momentous decision. 

And this is today (please forgive the picture quality, I am lousy at selfies)

But really? To me, THIS is what a 100 pound weight loss looks like. This was taken a few weeks ago when we were zip lining. I had wanted to go zip lining for many years but was too fat for it to be fun or safe. I couldn't have even fit in the harness to begin with. This is what I wanted when I undertook this journey - to be healthy, active and engaged with life.  

Keep your eye on the prize and if you're contemplating whether to have the surgery or not, I encourage you to not put off making the decision. I wish I had done it 5 years ago when I first thought about it.   

HW - 319, SW - 303.5