pills after RYN

marissasmith1987
on 12/8/13 9:39 am - troy, NY
RNY on 01/13/14

Ok so i was wondering how did you take your medications and vitamins after RNY. Did you have trouble with pills. I take a few pills like Metformin that are big pills (horse pills). Are you taking any big pills now. I cant crush extended release pills like Tramadol (pain pill). 

- Marissa RYN 1-13-14. If the past was perfect then there would be no need for tomorrow

poet_kelly
on 12/8/13 9:50 am - OH

I had no trouble with pills the same day as my surgery.

It is recommended RNY folks not use extended release meds, though, because they don't stay in our digestive system long enough to be fully absorbed.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

dragonlove
on 12/8/13 9:53 am
RNY on 11/20/13

This is something your surgeon would work out with you.  Regarding the pain pills after surgery, mine prescribed liquid so I could take it.  I am not sure when I'll be able to swallow pills (I'm only 18 days after surgery), but I know that Metformin would be a big no-no.  You don't have the stomach at first to digest it like it needs and it will block your exit and you'll be miserable.

Honestly, your surgeon would find out exactly what you are normally on and decide what you will still need afterwards.  If you take metformin for diabetes, then you may not need any meds for that afterwards at all.  If you take it for another reason, only your surgeon can work out a plan for you.

Pam (RNY: 11/20/2013)

aztma
on 12/8/13 11:06 am
RNY on 12/03/13