For those post op. What were your thoughts the days before surgery ??

RNY on 10/21/13

My thoughts were a little different from many of the replies you've received. Maybe it is because I don't have children yet or because I work in the medical field and read a ton of research before surgery, maybe a bit of both. 

I was not scared to have surgery nor was I worried about dying on the table as that is statistically very low. I was more reflective on what brought me to the point of having surgery and I focused on what my life would be like after surgery. Leading up to surgery I was anxious and terrified that something would happen that would be a barrier and prevent me from having surgery because I knew it was my lost hope of becoming who I want to be on the outside. I felt like my body was a cage that was keeping me from so many things in my life, creating barriers and stealing time and shared moments with those I love. 

As for the thought if how the hell will I do this the rest of my life, well, just like anything else I have ever achieved I knew I would take it one day at a time. The thing that has changed for me is that I am no longer a perfectionist, or an all or nothing thinker in regards to weight and food. Ok, I ate something with a few too many carbs, it is NOT the end of the world and I'll do better next time. For me, I knew I needed something drastic that did make me change the way I lived the rest of my life. I realize I'm only 5 months out, but amazing things are happening and I just passed the 100 lbs lost mark earlier this week. 

The best advice I can give you is to stay focused on the positive things. Write a list of all the reasons you want to lose weight, no matter how insignificant they may seem and reflect on those reasons. Mine ran the gamut from physical to emotional and I'm glad I made the list because it reminds me of where I was and where I never want to return.