Questions for my coffee drinking friends...

Bsheldon
on 4/20/14 4:45 am

Those of you that drink coffee with creamer and sugar (splenda), here are my questions:

1. How long after surgery did you start drinking coffee again?

2. Decaf or regular?

3. Creamer: Fat-free or Sugar-free?

Thanks! I haven't had a cup of coffee in weeks and I miss it, not for any reason other than it is yummy!

Surgery Date: 4/10/14 HW-279 SW-270 CW-144 GW-140

poet_kelly
on 4/20/14 8:07 am - OH

I was not a big coffee drinker before surgery.  I probably started drinking it occasionally about six months post op.  At first I drank decaf.  Nowadays I like coffee a lot more than I did before for some reason.  I drink decaf most of the time, but regular occasionally.  I usually drink it black, although I like a little almond milk in iced coffee.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

somestorm
on 4/20/14 8:20 am
with

I'm just three months post-op and have just started drinking coffee again in the last few weeks. After 10 weeks without caffeine, the first few days I had regular coffee I was jittery, irritable, and emotional. I switched back to decaf plus a cup of regular tea. I've always had coffee with half and half with Equal, even before surgery. Post surgery, I've been topping off my coffee with 1% milk plus a tablespoon of sugar free (definitely not fat free) creamer. The sugar free stuff is great, just be careful not to overdo it because it's easy to get too much fat all at once and cause tummy upset. 

Nickeliz
on 4/20/14 10:02 am - Atlanta, GA
RNY on 06/18/13