9th day post op

Bmspc
on 5/30/14 5:19 am

So ... I can't believe its 9 days post op. Crazy!! My abdominal muscles still feel sore and sitting up from bed is a challenge. I expected to have my abs rebound quicker. Lol. Silly me. I converted from clears to full liquids Wednesday, one week out.  I can't wait to progress to purée but am stuck on full liquids for TWO whole weeks!!!! Anyone else have to wait three weeks post op to go to purée? Anyway, I lost 10 lbs pre op on that dreaded liquid diet, and I have lost 10 lbs post op. Is that normal weight loss. I feel like I should have lost a 1/4 of a person being on liquids 20 days.  

poet_kelly
on 5/30/14 6:38 am - OH

Sounds like normal weight loss to me.

I was only on liquids for a week.  Well, a week and one day.  On clear liquids in the hospital, then on full liquids for one week at home, then pureed foods.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Grim_Traveller
on 5/30/14 7:04 am, edited 5/30/14 7:05 am
RNY on 08/21/12

I gained weight from surgery, and wasn't back to my starting point by nine days, so you are way ahead of where I was.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

christyhall
on 5/30/14 7:30 am
RNY on 04/28/14

I didn't have a pre-op liquid diet other than the day before surgery, but I also had 1 week of clear liquids and 2 weeks of full liquids post-op before pureed foods. You'll make it!

RNY on April 28, 2014 with Laura July at Unity Hospital in Fridley (Twin Cities) Minnesota.

Starting weight in October 2013: 350 lbs. SW: 275 lbs. CW: 242 lbs.

Ladybug81