Hypoglycemia

robynrobyn36
on 8/24/14 12:25 pm - NH
RNY on 02/25/13

Hi, I am 18 months post-op and have been having a problem with low blood sugars- anyone else have this problem?  Usually I just feel a little lightheaded and I know it's time to eat something, no big deal.  Yesterday I was at work and I actually passed out and fell on the floor.   I immediately checked my blood sugar and it was only 43; this was about an hour after having a protein shake for breakfast.  I work in a hospital so I went to the ER and my labs, EKG etc showed no problems, and I have felt fine since then but I'm a little concerned, I don't want this to happen again!   I plan to follow up with my PCP, just curious if any others have had experience with this! 

Surgery date 2/25/13, Single mom of 2 great kids, Psych RN

Lady Lithia
on 8/24/14 12:28 pm

Reactive hypoglycemia ... pancreas creates too much insulin ... best way to combat it is to never have more than 25 grams of total carbs (fiber counts too) per meal. Even good carbs. I dump too, but find dumping is no big deal next to RH 

Good luck

~Lady Lithia~ 200 lbs lost! 
March 9, 2011 - Coccygectomy!
I chased my dreams, and my dreams, they caught me!
giraffesmiley.gif picture by hardyharhar_bucket

robynrobyn36
on 8/24/14 1:13 pm - NH
RNY on 02/25/13

I've been researching online and that's what I'm coming up with too as the most likely explanation.   Funny, the ER doc didn't seem to think he had anything to do with my gastric bypass, he blamed it on maybe the room being too hot, stress, or that I bent over in a certain position- none of which made any sense to me.  It's a hospital that does bariatric surgeries but not where I had mine done- they need to learn to recognize common side effects of the surgery!   Anyhoo, thanks for the input! :)  

Surgery date 2/25/13, Single mom of 2 great kids, Psych RN

Ocalasam
on 8/25/14 12:28 am
RNY on 12/18/12