Struggling

Laura in Texas
on 7/19/16 7:19 am

I did not get much guidance from my surgeon's office, either. For most of us, maintenance is learned by trial and error. Most of us seem to have to keep calories between 1200-1600 to maintain. Others are lucky and can consume more. I tracked for a long time right after I reached goal to see where I needed to keep my calories. I cut back 500/day when I need to lose. I am a math teacher and love numbers!! 

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

RNY_elizabeth
on 7/19/16 6:50 am - TX
RNY on 10/06/15

As I drove to work this morning I was thinking about that I was 146 this morning on the scale.  Lowest so far. I thought, "That is cool. Kinda weird. " Then I thought to myself, "So...if I regain just 50 pounds I would still be under 200 and that would still be way less than I weighed most of my life.  That wouldn't be so bad."  

I fear and stress about not "if I fail" but "when I fail" pretty often.  I know that isn't healthy and I actively work to stop that thought train in my head but it crops back up regularly.  I struggle with feeling like any success I have had isn't mine.  It is just the 'magic' surgery and I fear that when my body decides it isn't fooled by the pouch anymore BOOM all of it will come back.  I know that isn't real, that the success I have had is in part my actions, that I am doing well and that I have the power to continue to be successful.  And then I think about failing as a given.  Rinse repeat.

You really aren't alone.  We all got here with a baggage cart in tow filled with food addiction and self hatred.  None of this is easy but we can do this for the long haul.  We really can.