Having a hard time quitting

Terri70
on 2/9/17 10:55 am

I'm struggling trying to quit smoking. I've tried everything almost. I've been smoking for 34 years and it is like losing a best friend. One that has been there for me through EVERYTHING! I'm trying really hard to remember that it's not something I can get a "magic pill" for to stop. It's going to be hard. Point blank. And I need to just take it for what it's worth and do it. I've decided to smoke until Monday and use this time to disgust myself with it and have my final "funeral" for them. I'm trying to get one of my doctors to prescribe me with Wellbutrin. That is the only 100% nicotine free way that I haven't tried. I think that if I can get past the first 3 days (even though it will still be hard) I will be okay and will be able to do it. I'm a fighter and this is not what is going to take me down! I won't let it any longer!

Anyone else having a hard time?

pammieanne
on 2/9/17 11:19 am - OK
RNY on 05/16/16

Ugh, I do understand. I was lucky and had quit smoking before WLS, but I had started back and turned to the vape. So when I was vaping, and surgery started to creep up, I was able to go down to the zero nicotine, and still have my binky (which is what I called it)...

There's no easy way to quit, and I know there are others on here that have had to, or are trying to, kick the habit.

Good luck to you! It might be that cold turkey is your only option. You CAN do this!!! It's worth every bit of agony of not smoking to earn the title of Weight Loss Patient!

Height 5'5" HW 260 SW 251 CW 141.6 (2/27/18)

RNY 5-16-16 Pre-Op 9lbs, M1-18.5lbs, M2-18.1lbs, M3-14.8lbs, M4-10.4lbs, M5-9.2lbs, M6-7lbs, M7-6.2lbs, M8-8.8lbs,M9-7.8lbs, M10-1 lb, M11-.6lbs, M12-4.4lbs

Terri70
on 2/9/17 11:23 am

Yeah I'm starting to thing that cold turkey is the only way too. I have decided to lean on vaping 0mg in dire situations, though. I just don't want to do it all the time. Just when I REALLY REALLY need it.